RSS Feed

The Normal Procedure Is To Call In The Bomb Squad

The Normal Procedure Is To Call In The Bomb Squad

A suspicious looking black briefcase is left by the doors of a church and the major thoroughfare through your town is shut down for most of the morning and many businesses  closed. When the Fort Walton Beach Police Department were unable to determine who it belonged to the Florida State Fire Marshal’s Office, the Bay County’s Sheriff’s Office bomb squad and the Division of State Fire Marshal Bureau of Fire and Arson Investigations Office all responded to the scene.

This all took place blocks from where I live. I knew it was going on. The local newspaper had posted on Facebook and I happened to see it in my news feed. Actually I did not think much of it at the time and didn’t give it another thought – not until I saw it on the front page of the newspaper this morning.  H said we were far enough away if anything had happened. We would have heard the explosion and it probably would have shaken the windows. That’s scary enough for me.

A man stepped forward hours later to claim his forgotten briefcase after hearing about the situation on social media as I had. He had left the ‘suspicious’ case by the doors when he had locked up following a meeting the night before. There’s a plus for social media! Who knows how long the shutdown would have gone on if social media had not prevailed.

What’s happening here? Years ago that briefcase would not have been given a second thought. Some kind soul would have stumbled across it and without a fleeting thought picked it up, taken it to the church office, and the secretary would have asked around trying to find the owner. Worse case scenario, the briefcase would have been opened, breaking locks if necessary, and the contents rummaged through to find a clue of ownership. Twenty-five years later, calling in the bomb squad is the normal procedure to follow.

I know this is now common procedure and only a precaution to keep people safe, but it makes me  sad to realize that our world has come to this. Life is not as it used to be. Kids don’t think and post who knows what on Facebook, Twitter, and other social media and there are repercussions. If they aren’t careful the bomb squad may show up! There was an article in the paper on this subject a couple of days ago.

I’ve opened the articles up on my computer, googled ‘bomb squad’ for an image, and searched the internet for more information. I’m hoping the title to this post will not alert the officials! Yes, it’s a scary world. You can’t even accidentally forget your briefcase on the steps of a church!

I mentioned on my Facebook page recently that reading my news feed was like watching CNN or Fox News. Who needs the newspaper anymore? Just open up social media.

You don’t want to know what other news was in my paper this morning. I’m afraid to cruise through Facebook.

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. Your post only reinforces the post that I did yesterday about the negative reporting in the world. Thanks for that.
    I try to fill my FB feed with positive stuff but on occasion things that are negative find their way through.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I quit watching television a long time ago. If it weren’t for FB I would not have a clue what is going on in the world. Funny thing is, I don’t want to know. It’s enough to know what is going on in my small little life.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

