RSS Feed

Lost and Found

Lost and Found

I don’t like it when H gets lost in Walmart – I know where I am!

We picked up another huge bag of bird food and then I left him at the prescription counter heading over to the men’s sock aisle to pick up socks for Andrew as he had requested from me earlier today. Four packages of socks, two boxes of cereal, coffee, a cupcake thingy (always something I don’t really need catches my eye in this store), and a package of cookies (we didn’t need those either) later, H is nowhere to be found and my hands are too loaded to pull my phone out of my pocket to call him.

I peer down aisle after aisle in hopes I catch a glimpse of him. I should know better. This always happens and I always vow to snag a cart the next time I walk to a different area of the store without him. He said he would meet me in the cat food aisle and as I stand there next to the Meow Mix and cat litter with my articles precariously stacked in my arms, my phone buzzes with a text. I shift most of  my items into one arm and holding the coffee under my chin, with my freed hand I pry my phone from my back pocket. I have figured out the reason we have thumbs – its to slide your cell phone open with when you only have one hand to use – and if you do that too often you could wind up with a cramp. 😉

Yep! Just as I suspected. It was a text from H. “Do we need bread?”

bread

Without bothering to answer him, I headed toward the bread aisle before he had a chance to wander off again. There he was with a grocery cart half full of who-knows-what (I’m sure it was stuff we needed) and staring at his cell phone waiting for my reply. I walk up behind him and as I dumped my articles in the basket I answered, “Yes, we need bread.”

This is why I don’t like going to Walmart. We always find things to buy that we did not go in for and if I turn away for a minute H always gets lost! The total at the register was $126.89 and the majority of our purchases were not even edible. The cats and wild birds will have food for the week and we will have to eat out. That may not be such a bad deal!

Wasn’t that thoughtful of him to think about the bread? And he never even knew he had been lost!

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

13 responses »

  1. We do this all the time and then we wander from aisle to aisle looking for each other.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I could see you there ready to dump that cart over…he does like containers…boxes…shopping carts. My bet is, you’re just so good at compiling the family needs you’ve spoiled them. A hunch.

    Like

    Reply
  3. This post resonates with me. My husband and I lose each other more often than not when shopping.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Elle, he might not have known he was lost, but did he know he was found?
    My shopping expense almost doubles if my honey comes with me.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Cracked me up, Elle – maybe because it was all TOO familiar! But for cell phones, that store would be full of couples wandering around, checking up and down each aisle, looking for lost loved ones!

    Like

    Reply
  6. That sounds very similar to my family. I sometimes dread trips to Walmart because of wandering just what we might “find” that we need.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

