RSS Feed

I Always Say “I’ll Bring My Video Camera”…And Then Forget It!

I Always Say “I’ll Bring My Video Camera”…And Then Forget It!

 

Making our way home from Troy University through the driving rain in the wee hours of the morning was my least favorite part of last night’s excursion. Watching Andrew play a selection from the program “Southern Harmony” with The United States Air Force Concert Band and Singing Sergeants during their first stop on their fall tour at Troy University was worth it. He was one of a few of The Sound of the South’s students  selected to participate. This somewhat blurred video taken on my phone while seated midway in the auditorium of Claudia Crosby Theater does not bring justice to the performance. Still, it was a proud moment for H and I.

Andrew participating with the Air Force Band

Andrew participating with the Air Force Band

Andrew’s girlfriend, Jordan,  also participated in a piece with the Singing Sergeants and I’m sorry to say, but this video isn’t much better. It pays to be short – you are usually placed on the front row! She’s the second from the left in the front. That’s the Air Force Band playing in the background. I usually don’t enjoy the singing part of concerts. There was no way you could sleep through these guys though. They were great!

Jordan performing with the Singing Sergeants

Jordan performing with the Singing Sergeants

What an opportunity for these students!

Andrew had left our tickets for the concert under his doormat. We also had instructions. 🙂

Per instructions!

Per instructions!

After the concert we were able to spend a little time with Andrew and took them both out to eat. Then we were back on the road by eleven-fifteen pm, home by one forty-five, and to bed by two am. Up again this morning at five-thirty.

I’m up, but I’m dragging!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

5 responses »

  1. How wonderful for you to watch. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m so excited for you. That must have been such a moment…your son, the patriot playing for the country. Nice being a mom Elle, I see that over and over again 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

