RSS Feed

And Then…I Wrote A Book!

And Then…I Wrote A Book!

Go ahead – add yours up. Add up your social media hours if you dare and don’t be surprised at the amount of time you put in. If you calculated  all the time I spend on social media in one given day please do not reveal the answer to me! I do not want to know!

This is coming from someone that had to be manipulated into getting a Facebook page. Yes, my children told me I could see pictures of my grandchildren without them having to specially send me a private email. They said it would be easier for them. I balked, I procrastinated, I put it off and then one day – !BAM! – I had a Facebook page, compliments of my sister. I think she was in cahoots with those kids. Thanks so much Debbie!

And then…I wrote a book – ‘Crossing The Line’. Now I have not only that first personal Facebook page but also an author Facebook page, an Amazon author page,  a ‘Crossing The Line’ Facebook page, a twitter account, pinterest, and my blog. I even have an Etsy account that is in a sad state of neglect right now. I also upgraded my cell phone to a smart phone that is smarter than I am! I get my emails for four different accounts (long story), and have notifications coming through constantly night and day. There seems to be a constant buzz, beep, whirr or ring. I can’t leave home without it. Have I left anything out?

Just having a blog is enough to keep you busy hours at a time. You don’t just blog, you read – a lot! And when you read you find more to read as in books suggested by other bloggers or authors, articles, and  more blogs.

I did not enter into this writing adventure lightly. The only reason I am a part of so much  social media is because it seems to be one of the requirements of becoming an indie author. It gives your book exposure, helps to develop a platform for marketing and promoting, and gives your readers an insight of who you really are.

That being said, it also drains you of a life free of social media responsibilities. There is always that one last post lurking in the far corner of your mind. Add to that some comments to make or answer, a few more emails, a pin on pinterest, a tweet, or a new book to read and review.

Seems like I’m all over the place. It’s no wonder I can’t seem to finish the sequel to ‘Crossing The Line’ –  ‘What Line’. Don’t take this the wrong way. I love all my social media. It’s exhilarating to get a comment, a like or any kind of response  to your latest blog post. It’s dandy to have your Facebook post liked, commented on,  and even shared.  To be re-tweeted or favored is a feeling of accomplishment. The top of the line seems to be having a post you are so very proud of re-blogged.

So what’s the point? The point is if I didn’t engage in all this social media you wouldn’t know that I wrote a book and if I hadn’t written a book I probably wouldn’t be involved in social media as much (maaaabeey). It has a way of reeling you in. I would have so much time on my hands and maybe I’d write a book!

For example, this morning I’ve been to the store to buy washing powder and a new laundry basket, washed four loads of laundry, and sat watch on a bird that flew into my window. These are everyday chores that had to be done – maybe not the bird part. BTW, he survived…flew off into the wild blue yonder. Now here I am blogging. That is what I was striving for all morning hurrying through those chores and even putting off a few. I should be writing on ‘What Line’ and I intend to do just that…as soon as I answer a few emails, post some Facebook content, tweet, maybe update my Amazon author page, and check on that badly neglected Etsy site.

I probably use all this social media for procrastination as well as marketing and promoting. Doesn’t everybody? What do you think?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

3 responses »

  1. Wow…this took my breath away. I thought I engaged a lot…you Madam have me beat. I read a great book recently called Still Writing by Dani Shapiro. It was so enlightening I’m recommending it to you.

    It might help you pen that sequel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

