RSS Feed

♫♫A VERY SCARY BEDTIME STORY♫♫

♫♫A VERY SCARY BEDTIME STORY♫♫

 ♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

If my laptop has its way I won’t be around very much! Something I did yesterday set off the bells and whistles!

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

Each new pop-up has a catchy little ditty playing as box after box appears making it impossible to keep up with crossing off the X’s!

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

Annoyed with this latest computer disaster, I ran a virus scan on McAfee and after a fretful forty minutes I received this message – YOUR COMPUTER IS SECURE – NO ACTION IS REQUIRED. Secured my A*%! There’s something scurrying  around in there messing up my laptop and my day. 😦

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

I googled and I searched and I ranted and I complained. I watched video’s on the subject, read through numerous forums, and still dug a little deeper. It was all to no avail.

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

I searched for a number for  contact – some kind of contact – a human voice, a helping hand. It had to be a problem with McAfee. After all I kept getting this message – WARNING: Suspicious Site – Whoa! Are you sure you want to go there?  – from the McAfee site advisor. Yes, I’m sorry to say, but your blog sites, my blogger friends, were all included in the advice to stay away as I tried to catch up on my weekly reading and commenting. Please say it’s not true!

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

Even on the McAfee site I would get a red – yes, RED – warning message. It was that dreaded red box. Acck! What is going on? See? It had to McAfee. Or at least that’s what I thought. This is scary- right?

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

Beware of what's beyond!

Beware of what’s beyond!

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

Between the music and the windows jumping helter-skelter, I finally found a number. Quickly, before it disappeared behind another box I punched the numbers into my phone.

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

A live voice! Some human contact! Almost two hours later it was explained to me in a language I could hardly grasp that McAfee wasn’t my problem and my computer had not been infected with a deadly virus. What was it? I honestly couldn’t tell you because that technology talk goes in one ear and out the other without stopping for a hello or a good-bye! Seems like it’s some kind of registry problem, fake downloaded programs (How the heck did that happen?), and windows is not updating. The bottom line? They wanted to charge me $399.00 to fix it and give me five years of updates or $249.00 for a fix with one year of updates.

!!!Whoa! WARNING – RED FLAG!!!

(This was my take on the subject.)

I had learned a bit about what was going on behind the scenes through that two-hour phone call and went into my settings, changed my internet settings from MEDIUM to HIGH, deleted all the fake programs he had pointed out to me, and then restarted my computer. All was working just fine when I went to bed. This morning after a fitful night of nightmares about the problem, I booted up and all went well until I decided to post a tweet! After fiddling with the settings a bit I found out I couldn’t tweet if the internet settings were set to high. 😦 Oh well, I don’t tweet that much anyway and I can always use my phone for that! I’ll probably be looking for a repair person soon. Who knows, something else may crop up during the day!

♫♫♫♫♫ – Pop-up! Pop-up! Pop-up! – ♫♫♫♫♫

That is pretty annoying isn’t it?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

6 responses »

  1. I’ve had those pop-up boxes asking to do virus scans…. so annoying! I was curious about how much they charged to get themselves out of your machine. What a scam! I did find out how to delete them in security settings in My Computer.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Sorry to hear you’re going through this. I had something similar on my old computer, and it was indeed a virus. We forget how reliant we are on our machines until they start giving us grief to remind us. Hope it sorts itself out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. After a sleepless night Wednesday, because of thinking I was calling AppleCare to resolve a problem on my Apple ID…..speaking to someone in India, who I let have control of my computer screen…downloading things to my computer….telling me I had 142 issues needing to be resolved and wanting to charge me 3 hundred and something dollars….I finally came to my senses….and said, “No! I have paid for Apple Care and I am not paying anymore!” I immediately X’d the box that took him off my computer and regained total control! There was a big clue when he wanted control of my iPhone and 2 iPads! Thank goodness I had sense not to let that happen! Anyway, you can imagine what Bob said when I gave him all that information…. We were on another computer changing all the passwords, that I have to have a list to remember.
    I spent Thursday morning on the phone with Apple making sure my computer was secure and had not had any information stolen. I slept better last night. Of course, I am considered the computer illiterate of the family…. I will give this responsibility to Bob from now on. I’m still worried about the whole affair, even though the sweet girl I spoke to yesterday looked through my computer screen and decided it was ok. How can you be ok, dealing with people you can’t even understand??? At least I understood her.
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh my! I am exhausted reading about that! Wondered why I haven’t heard from you much this week. My laptop is still puny – very slow this morning. Maybe I’ll let it rest over the weekend! It would be nice if that is all it took to rejuvenate it. 😉

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

