RSS Feed

Good Evening. Do You Want A Senior….

Good Evening. Do You Want A Senior….

Oh look, five more years and we can get a senior discount. 🙂 Then four, three, two, one. Bingo! You’re there! 😦 You see the advertisements screaming at you all over the place. Wednesday night is Senior Night. Seniors take 15% off.  Senior coffee. Senior discount… What makes you a senior?  What are the tell-tale signs? Is it the shuffling walk you may have because your back is almost out from sitting at a desk all day or the wobbling and tilting a bit toward the right you present when trying to get your balance?  Could it be the sweater you have draped across your shoulders in ninety degree weather? What about those lines in your face that have become apparent because you had no desire to put make-up on when you got up this morning?  Your clothing? If it’s comfortable it works! The color, style, thinness or lack of  hair?  Those old lady shoes you snagged at a bargain price? Yep! They’re comfortable too.

Hold your horses! I'm almost there!

Hold your horses! I’m almost there!

Who is it that decides at what age you shall be designated a senior? Watch out because not every establishment follows the same rules. The age could fall anywhere between fifty  and sixty-five before your seniority is recognized by different businesses and the discount could start as low as fifty cents and go up to a whopping fifteen – twenty percent off! I’ve noticed that sixty is the most common age to be eligible for this discount. don't forget Senior discount days are different at various places of business. Don’t show up for dinner on a Tuesday night and expect to get the Wednesday Senior Day discount. Nope! Not going to happen. And don’t count on a senior lunch special at that great restaurant you like to eat at when you arrive after 3:00pm. You can take in a matinée in most movie theaters for about the same price as a senior ticket after six pm, so if you’re an early bird you won’t have to divulge your age. There’s a list out there. Did you know that? A list of senior discounts for restaurants, apparel, airfare, etc. It may be worth your while to take a peek. Then print it and keep handy to carry with you at all times. Save the  date! H and I had dinner at Captains D’s tonight. I know – you’re saying, “uggh!” We like their clams and they have great fried okra. And besides, it’s inexpensive and fast. I really need to start cooking more. Before we ordered, the cashier asked if we wanted the senior meal? It would save us about $2.25. (Give me a break! We were recuperating from a two-ballgame weekend.) Not even glancing my way H accepted their offer. Of course he did – he’s a senior and has been for a few years. He’s used to taking advantage of the situation. But, I still have nineteen days, seven hours and sixteen minutes until I will be legal! How about it? Did you get your senior discount today? Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. Not for a little while yet although I’m sure my body thinks it qualifies for senior status. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Bob was told the price at Taco Bell “with his senior discount” before he was barely 50. He told me what we were eating for after our discount…I think he was quite proud to have gray hair at that point! I was ready to wait several more years! Now I am disappointed when people don’t have to guess at my age. The way I get up, the time it takes to decide on an order, my difficulty understanding a new computer program, and the TV control! Telltale signs are all there! And I even take great measures to take my brain pills each day. No hope for it, we just need to learn how to age gracefully….I’m not very good at it 😕

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I just turned 54 and most of the discounts start at 55. I feel as if I have one more youthful year before being a full-fledged old foggie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I’m starting to get some…..I’m 62. On the reserve it’s 55 and we’re called Elders. That sounds a lot better!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yes! I really don’t mind, but its nerve-wracking when they just assume. Poor kids at these registers – they probably have nightmares about calling someone a senior who is not really one. 😉

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

