RSS Feed

Did You Know That Just Taking A Peek Could Eat Up Hours And Slice Your Day In Half?

Did You Know That Just Taking A Peek Could Eat Up Hours And Slice Your Day In Half?

When I started blogging almost two years ago – yes, it’s been that long and I can hardly believe it – I never realized how time-consuming it would be. I figured I would whip up a short little article two or three times a week and that would be that. Little did I know how much is involved if you are blogging to publicize and market your work.

Take this morning for example. I was just going to take a peek at my WordPress reader, see what’s at the top of the list today, then shut it down and get to work on my real job so I would have time this afternoon to write on ‘What Line’.  I have six pieced pillows I must have ready to deliver right after lunch! And you see what I’m doing? Something catches my eye and those keys start calling my name. ~tap-tap-tap–tap—tap tap~ It’s like Morse code.

I read a lot of blogs. A ton of them. That’s how I keep up with new idea’s in Indie publishing. I also keep up with the lives of the authors I follow and what new books they will be publishing soon. I try to stay in the loop. In this circle of bloggers I associate with I feel as though they are real friends and almost like my family. I laugh with them and I cry with them. There are joyous occasions and sad one. We aren’t very secretive. Practically nothing is sacred. That’s the thing about bloggers. We all have our ups and downs and share with one another. I have their back and they have mine and emotional support is always just around the corner. We learn from each others mistakes.

There are so many Indie authors out there that do the same thing I do. They actually have a real paying job for support because we all have yet to write ‘The Great American Novel’.  (BTW I’m working on that.) We have to fit in the writing – the thing we really love – in between the punching of the time clock. I’m lucky because I at least work from home and can make my own schedule.

With blogging comes Facebook. With Facebook you fall into Twitter. Twitter takes you to LinkedIn. Then on to Pinterest… I could go on and on and on. None of these programs run on their own. They all have to be managed and managed well if they are going to work for you. That takes more time away from finishing that book. I did downsize a bit last month and combined my ‘Crossing The Line’ Facebook page with my author Facebook page. Check it out LIKE, and tell me what you thing my new page.  That tiny bit of deletion has been well worth it.

Also with blogging comes pages and pages of research. You don’t want to blog about something you don’t have all the facts about. Google works well for me. How did I ever manage day-to-day life with out it? I google the spelling of words, dates, current events, and anything that comes to mind during the course of the day or night. “I need to google that” is constantly running through my head. I’ve even been known to google YOU! 😉 There is also the research I do when writing on my book. Sometimes when I post something on Facebook I do a little research on the subject first.  Research never ends and eats up hours from your day.

I’m in the middle of finishing ‘What Line’ and editing and republishing ‘Crossing The Line’ with a new cover. I’m not crazy about the one I have now. I was in a hurry and just made do. I’ve noticed where some bloggers drop off the face of the earth when they are deep into trying to finish a book they are writing and editing.  I’ve considered it. Yes, I have. But, I think I would miss my friends too much.

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

6 responses »

  1. Yep. Each day I am like “I’ll just read these couple of blogs” and then the day falls apart.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. i hear you!! it’s so hard to manage it all! and the writing and networking and hopping around visiting – is a full time job in itself!! it’s so easy to get sucked in! like i… um… am kind of doing right now. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yep! I’m still here – You know after you post you have to go to all the social media your post automatically ends up and make sure it got there ok and check the stats, and make a few comments…you know what I mean!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

