RSS Feed

Got Fruit?

Got Fruit?

I had plans this week. Glorious plans. I had only writing on my mind. My weekly scheduled was all planned out. All the t’s crossed and the i’s dotted. I hurriedly finished my work by Tuesday and delivered that afternoon. Wednesday I had agreed to be in DFS all day at the band room to sort and deliver fruit for H’s annual fruit fundraiser and the rest of the week I planned to write.

With the help of students and volunteers all those boxes of fruit were soon sorted, tagged and stacked in individual piles around the band room. It smelled like a fruit orchard when you walked in.  Then came the complicated task of taking orders and collecting money for the fifty-eight extra boxes of fruit bought by the band parents. Someone has to man the phone and be there for the next two days for walk-ins. With H not being in his room or office much this semester, he won’t be able to handle that task as usual this year.

Guess who got that job! I work from home (and to some that means I don’t work) so who could be better for this assignment? Thank you all for your votes of confidence!

So…I put my life on hold, again, set the alarm for 5:00am, travel the one hour commute with H, and here I am slap-dab in the middle of all this fruit. Does anyone need any fruit? We have twenty-seven more boxes to unload by tomorrow! And sorry, but no, I can’t deliver.  😦

I brought my trusty laptop, but I can’t get on Facebook, Twitter, or any other social media. This network has it all blocked.  I guess WordPress isn’t considered a threat because here I am! With no social media interruptions and since it’s quiet on the home front, maybe I’ll get some work done on ‘What Line’. Who knows? I may accomplish more here than I do at home.

 

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. Sorry, but that’s a long way to travel for a box of fruit! Good luck, though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

