RSS Feed

On The Road Again

“Why are you up so early?”
I had the alarm set for 5:30 am and before it went off H was up making noise, turning on lights, and opening and closing doors.
“I have things to do. We need to get out of here.”
That’s a bit different than the usual procedure when we travel. I’m usually the early bird. I hadn’t even packed yet! So while he was doing the things he needed to do – I didn’t see any difference in his usual routine – I packed and gathered items together that had to go with us. I have a no-fail system by keeping a list and marking through as I pack. Most times it works if I can keep him out of the mix.
Then…he starts to load the car. Have you ever noticed how men load a car for a trip? Well they can’t. That’s the bottom line. They just can not do it in a neatly organized precise way. The bag you need to get to while traveling usually goes in first and everything else is thrown in helter-skelter. I have to walk around with my purse and my book chained to me just to keep them from getting jammed in with the rest of the stuff. This will never do!
I saw an opening while H was in the back yard feeding the cats and birds/squirrels and I quickly reorganized, pulling the box of fruit we had to deliver on the way from the bottom of the pile and putting it on top. Bags and boxes and ice chest were now put in a better order. I don’t think he ever noticed!
Now we are on our way to Atlanta for a Thanksgiving Feast! Everyone else – even Andrew – arrived yesterday. We postponed our trip by one day because Jessie informed me over the weekend one of hers had a stomach virus. It all started with the baby, Sydney Paige. Between the two houses of family it has run its course through three children and two adults. Hopefully, it has run out the door! There will be nineteen people staying between the two houses and we do not need a stomach virus running rampant!
Like Amie said, “put all the sick people in one house and the well ones in the other!” Sounds like a plan to me. 😊
What are your Holiday plans?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

9 responses »

  1. I hope that you have a wonderful trip. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hope you have a great time and everybody stays healthy, Elle! We’re hiding out this year – the plan is a fancy breakfast with the parade and tacos for dinner (which we only have a couple of times a year, so it’s a treat!) Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I love that you’re so organized. There’s such comfort knowing where everything is when you pick up stakes.

    It’s snowing and icing here like there’s no tomorrow. I’m glad you’ll be traveling in kinder weather.

    Love the image of H feeding the squirrels, cats and birds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

