RSS Feed

The Importance Of A Click On That Gravatar – ‘Make New Friends’ – Part One

The Importance Of A Click On That Gravatar – ‘Make New Friends’ – Part One

Do you know the importance of liking, sharing, and commenting and what it means to a young blogger? It’s important for sure. Where do young bloggers find blogs to follow? Where do their followers come from? Your gravatar of course! Read this article on how to make and use your gravatar to your advantage if you aren’t sure of how they work.

When reading blogs in the genre of your interest you may notice the gravatars of other bloggers who have liked or commented or shared by re-blogging that same post. When you click on that gravatar, sometimes – if they are set up right – you are whisked away to their blog site. These are not just blogs to click on for the sake of clicking to follow in the hopes you will get a follow in return. Oh, I have done that plenty of times in the early days of blogging.  I would just rush through liking and clicking and following, not commenting very much. I’m sure we are all guilty in that respect. Blogs of interest to your work, i.e. writing, publishing, cooking , sewing, blogs that are fun to read, blogs of people you can connect to are the one you want to check out in more detail with a click to follow. After all they were reading the same post you were reading so there must be a connection somewhere. These important contacts can all be found through a gravatar.

My very best blogs I follow have come from clicking on a gravatar of a blogger who has ‘liked’, ‘commented’, or ‘shared’ an interesting or helpful post. My very best blogger friends are accounted for in this way. I have ‘friends’ now all over the world. Some I comment back and forth to on their blogs and vice versa. Some I actually email and have heart to heart conversations with. We say “Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. How is your family and how is your world progressing today? We feel the bumps in the road and the pains of each other as well as the elated joy when books are published and goals are met.

I don’t know of any bloggers in my neighborhood. None of my friends or family blog and none of my acquaintances. In fact I can honestly say I don’t actually know any bloggers personally as in, ‘I can reach out and touch’. “If you are hiding in the background out there please come forth! I’d love to know all about you and your blog.”

So this post actually is about the importance of liking, sharing, and commenting. You see, if you follow this regimen, someone out there may find you. They may click, read, a light bulb goes off and boom! You now have a follower too. How cool is that? Very cool! You may also make a fast friend even though it is long distance and you may never meet in person. It’s kinda like a pen pal in a cyberly way.

On another note, I have also acquired a few prizes along the road to making friends through blogging in the past two years. Yes that can happen and it has happened to me four times! I kid you not!

Stay tuned for Part Two –  A Cyberly Windfall! And be sure to LIKE, COMMENT, and SHARE to get your gravatar out into the public eye. You’ll be glad you did!

Elle

 

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. Great advice. Athough I had to giggle when reading Joey’s gravatar. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. You’re always so helpful not to mention sweet to post something like this. I am very cyberly deficient…had no idea about any of this, so thanks Elle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I find my favorite blogger friends the same way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Interesting post! I actually had no idea what my own avatar said until I read this, and checked:) I *met* you on another blog, and signed up, and here we are!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • It’s just like magic isn’t it? Sometimes clicking on that gravatar can take you to places unknown and places you would rather not be – but you can always back out and take a different fork in the road! 😉 Glad we *met*!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

