RSS Feed

A Short Biography of Marian Solomon

If you are interested in genealogy and family history go along on the ride with Sheryl as she researches and tells the story of a family members’ life as a WAC. She’s a great storyteller so you are in for a treat! Here is the first entry. Don’t miss out!

My Aunt the WAC

Marian Solomon Marian Solomon

Welcome to my new blog! It’s always difficult to know where to begin when embarking on a new adventure, so I guess that today I’ll tell you how I became interested in Aunt Marian and her story.

When I was cleaning out my parent’s attic, I found a trunk full of her items, including a handwritten cookbook and lots of Women’s Army Corps (WAC) memorabilia. There were items from Fort Oglethorpe, occupied Japan, San Francisco, and other places. My mother apparently stored the items for Aunt Marian many years ago.

When I first found Aunt Marian’s items in the attic, I had little interest in them because I barely knew her. I complained to my son that it was a lot of work going through her things. He said, “If seems like your grandmother’s sister would have been really old in World War II. How old was she when…

View original post 267 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. I read the post. Her aunt must have been a fascinating adventurer at a time when a woman’s place was in the kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I actually took the time to read the first entry of this blog about Aunt Marion. This lady will be able to carry the title of a Private Investigator when she goes back in history! Interested to see where this leads. I’ll try to keep up! AND with your new blog too!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

