RSS Feed

The Importance Of A Click On That Gravatar – ‘The Cyberly Windfall’ – Part Two

The Importance Of A Click On That Gravatar – ‘The Cyberly Windfall’ – Part Two

If you read part one of this post you should realize the importance of liking, sharing by re-blogging, and commenting on other posts as you read them. Be honest in what you comment and by all means be a friend with your sharing. We are one little group supporting each other. Give some of your precious time and as the Golden Rule states – “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Good things came to me as I liked, commented and shared posts of others through my blog, Twitter, LinkedIn and through my Author Facebook Page. Yes I found friends – good friends, and followers. Find your connection and you will be glad you did.

The first windfall was a selection of three or four books. Books for me to read and books for my grandchildren. I can’t remember exactly what it was I had to do, but I am sure it consisted of liking and sharing and commenting of said blog. I actually started reading Anita’s blog – Sugar Spice and Spilled Milk – because she was a friend of my sisters and it was in the very early days of my blogging career. Hahaha! Career? Anyway, I still read her blog while drooling over her recipes and planning on when I will whip up that special dish. Mostly I just read and drool. 😉

The second and third win for me was a real surprise. I commented on a post that was dear to my heart because H is a band director in the school system. The writer of the post commented back to me and implied I should enter the contest with what I had written as my comment. I didn’t even know there was a contest and there was only a few days left to submit. After emailing back and forth a few times, I finally came up with my submission and the rest is history. You can read my submission here. I posted anonymously so as to not call attention to H as he is in the school system employment. I have issues – we all do it seems.  In the first round of the contest my submission won and will be printed in the 2nd edition of Lifting the Curtain:  The disgrace we call Urban High School Education in February! Cool!

Then there was the second round and I was not even hopeful for that. A few weeks later I received an email and there it was. Another win! Number three for me! A $100 Amazon gift card was waiting for me to spend. I had been wanting that Kindle fire and now it was mine!

So… I was happy.  🙂 Three wins in less than two years. Who could ask for anything more? But…one day this week my phone went ping…ping…ping with a WordPress notification. I was in the middle of something at the time and when I remembered to look a couple hours later, there it was – a reply to a comment I had made on Ionia Martin’s readfulthings blog. I had won again! I didn’t expect it at all. I had commented, liked, and shared her post with no expectation of winning. The thought of winning went out of my head soon after posting. I was only doing the right thing I thought. Helping a fellow blogger get some well deserved attention we all deserve was my point. Now I will soon have a new DVD in my possession. Another cool gift!

I actually gave away a prize on my Author Facebook Page before Christmas. Yes, I had a winner and asked her to message me with her contact information so her prize could be sent. I haven’t heard from her. I know Christmas was hectic and not everyone checks out Facebook everyday as I do. The good thing is she happens to be a friend of a friend of mine on my personal Facebook page. I will get a message to her through my friend this week if I’m lucky. It was fun to do this and I plan to do some more giveaways soon.

So that’s it. Yes, it is important to interact with the blogs you read. My problem is not that I don’t interact enough but that I could interact all day and never get anything else done. At first I was hesitant. It was very hard for me to converse with people I didn’t know. These people don’t know me I thought. They don’t care what I have to say. But…I was very wrong. They do care – I care – all bloggers care. We love to get comments, and likes and shares and they keep the posts coming and our attitudes in check. All this interaction boosts our self-esteem because we are normal people with normal needs just like you! We reward your  likes, comments, and shares with a few of our own. Most of the time we follow you if your material is what we crave.

Have you liked, commented, or shared today? Believe me when I say it feels good to interact and to be recognized. You may even win a prize sometime or two, or three, or four…..!

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

4 responses »

  1. I try to read and comment for a couple of hours each day Lindy but I just keep falling behind. So much to read… so little time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It’s definitely important to build relationships with fellow bloggers. For time management, I try to read blogs 1 day a week. I do my best to pop by, but many times I fall back to recent commenters and make sure to reciprocate a comment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

