RSS Feed

Neither Snow nor Rain nor Heat nor Gloom of Night

Neither Snow nor Rain nor Heat nor Gloom of Night

 

Last night H went in the post office after hours to mail a letter and the automatic door malfunctioned as he entered, locking him inside the building for the better part of two hours! The heat was off (you know, for the government to save money) and the temperature in the building was a cool 40 below. He didn’t have his jacket on because he was only planning on running in for a second.

Not really. Didn’t really happen. But it could happen, couldn’t it? Dramatic right? #@%! happens all the time.

Just so you know, sometimes there is an easier way to accomplish a task and I believe of the two of us, I’m the one who usually takes advantage of that way!

On our way out to eat the other evening I mentioned to H we had to stop by the post office to mail Andrew’s rent check least they confiscate his belongings and bolt his door locking him out of his apartment. Of course that is not what I implied to H. It was a Saturday, the post office was closed, and Andrew’s rent was due the following Tuesday. Yes, I know that’s cutting it close but I had done the math and I knew it only took one day for the mail to get to Troy. I have confidence in the postal service to come through. They had come through today by delivering my mail five hours earlier than normal so I wasn’t prepared with this rent check ready to go out when my mail came in!

Now you have to realize how our post office is set up to receive cars coming into the parking lot. There is ONE way in and ONE way out! To go in you must  enter as you would when using the drive thru box, go past the lane just a wee bit, hang a sharp left, and then almost immediately veer into the parking lot on your right. Makes sense? Not really. The out drive is at the opposite end of the parking lot.

H drove right past the entrance and I said, “Where are you going? You can’t turn in at the other one.”

“I know. I forgot. I’ll just turn around up here.”

He whips the car  around doing a U-turn in the middle of the street while I am holding on to my seat and hoping I don’t get whiplash and then heads back in the opposite direction. It’s a good thing there was no traffic to speak of. As he finishes making the loop-de-loops to get into the parking lot, I say, “I have it stamped. We can put it in the drive-thru box.”

“Put it inside. It will go out faster.”

I wasn’t going to argue the point. When the post office is closed, it is closed. No mail is going out until the next pick-up time. “Then you go in and mail it. It’s raining and cold and I was just going to drop it outside. It only takes one day to get to Troy so it won’t be late. They will have it Monday.”

He parks, goes in and drops it…in the rain…in the cold.

Now why is that? Why can’t men do things the easy way. Just drop it in the #!@% box and be on our way! No chance of abduction, freezing to death, or locked in a cold building. They make those drop boxes for a reason and I keep stamps on hand for that purpose!

And while the bridge authority is spending money on bridge research for an easier way to bypass the towns traffic, the town  should re-think the entrance to the post office!

My point? That 30 second mail drop took about 8 minutes! And my neck hurts. 😦

Elle

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

3 responses »

  1. To get to our post office, you have to be able to find parking spot on the street or go into the street behind and see if there are any parks left on the roof of the arcade next door. If you’ve already stamped it, then great you can just drop it in the box outside otherwise you have to go in and queue. Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

