RSS Feed

Your WordPress Reader – It can make you or break you!

Your WordPress Reader – It can make you or break you!

So…I’m working on this third assignment for Blogging 101. I haven’t quite figured out all the ends and outs of my reader yet and I’ve been doing this for almost two years! I use it mostly for reading the blogs I already follow. It’s my buddy in the morning and on a cold day. I carry it on all my electronic devices so it’s a constant in my life.

I just followed a couple more interesting looking blogs, but I don’t want to be too quick with this assignment of following five new blogs.  I like to explore and pick and choose, not cluttering up my reader with stuff I may delete later. I would never want someone to delete me! Is that a bad thing? A math or science blog would do me no good because those are not my favorite topics.

If you just go through exploring topics without being on a mission, clicking and liking and following this, that, and the other, just for the sake of following, you may end up with a reader chock full of information that doesn’t appeal to you. Do you really need to know Aunt Martha’s husband is now having an affair with his 3rd ex-wife? I didn’t think so.  If you don’t enjoy politics don’t follow them. Don’t sign up to be informed of every book club known to man if you aren’t a big reader. Hummm? Where can I find that blog? It sounds interesting. And that DIY blog isn’t going to do you a bit of good if you are all thumbs!

In other words, follow your interests, broaden your horizons gradually. Don’t wake up to a reader clogged full of content that overwhelms you. You won’t be a happy camper if you have to search through that content to find what you want. It’s ok to un-follow, but if you only follow your hearts desire and add slowly to your interests, then you won’t have to leave a fellow blogger hanging.  😦 You can only read so much in a day. Make it count!

I have found out that following and liking, commenting, and sharing – in other words, interacting with other blogs – really gets you on the map! It doesn’t hurt to re-blog now and then when you come across a post that is dear to your heart. Try it – you’ll like it! 😉

How do you choose what to follow?

I’ll keep at this until I meet the quota. It may take me a few hours.

Happy following! 😉

Elle

About Elle – Curious and curiouser (which is a made-up word from Alice In Wonderland!)? – Read more here!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

20 responses »

  1. See, I follow a lot of blogs but only use the reader when I have spare time. What I do is go into my ‘blogs I follow’ and edit button and then choose to follow the ones I especially want to keep up with (like yours) by email. This allows me to read them when I am able (see I’m almost a week behind). When I follow a new blog, I allow it’s posts to come by email for a couple of weeks and see how I enjoy their writing etc. If I don’t wish to continue to read, then I edit again and put them no mail but I can still access from my reader if I wish to. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. I have not actively went searching for new blogs in ages as I ran out of time. But I know I need to. Some I stumble upon accidentally, follow them, then forget to look for them on my reader. I spend all my time just talking with the followers I usually talk with. Which is not the way I know…must do better!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I actually use the reader in two ways. 1) blogs that i want to keep an eye because I just like reading them 2) Blogs i want to keep an eye on because they are within the same realm as mine.

    I don’t follow many, mostly because I just started following blogs. When I have a chance I am normally writing them. My son doesn’t give me much of a chance to just read! This is interesting though, I’ve never thought of it like that. I don’t think i would ever unfollow a blog unless they became something I couldn’t agree with.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. It can be very tricky to know just how many blogs to follow without becoming swamped.

    If you have the headspace I would be very grateful for feedback from another writer on my new project http://www.writingforbee.

    Happy blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Great summation of today’s assignment. I asked a few questions (The Commons), but I haven’t had anyone respond yet. Is there a search button on The Reader, or does one just scroll through the topics of interest?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I follow (and un follow for that matter) in spurts. I rarely take time to read more than three or four of a person’s posts before choosing whether or not to follow.

    I then try to monitor my reader for a while to get an idea of what they write and how. If I stumbled upon their one gem out of thirty (from my perspective of course) then I don’t feel bad about un following.

    On the other hand, there are some writers who are so spectacular once in a while that I will dig through many inferior posts to get the single gem.

    Oh, about blogging 101: I really need to do that someday.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • I said I would never do one of those courses where you had assignments and had to keep up, but…never say never! It’s been interesting so you may want to take a look! Yes, I too, have a few that I dig out of my reader to have breakfast with every morning! 😉 I hope I may be on someone’s list in that way some day. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

