RSS Feed

Small…Cold…Spaces

Small…Cold…Spaces

I live in Florida for heavens sake and this is not what I signed up for! Temperatures are not supposed to be in the teens – ever! At least that is what I was led to believe. Someone has told me lies! Does everyone take to hibernating like a grizzly bear in winter when the temperature drops below norm or is it just me?

I haven’t actually been out of the house in three days except to snatch the mail out of the box and quickly jump back inside lest icicles start to form somewhere on my body. So glad we are grandfathered in and my mail is delivered right to my door! I should look into having one of those mail slots added to the door when we finally get our new front door. Does anyone do that anymore? It could be like a dog door except for mail.

It was down in the mid 30’s last night which was a little warmer than the past two nights. One of those nights we had to venture out in that wind and cold to cover our fruit trees. I don’t know why because they sure haven’t given us much fruit. I say let them freeze.

H and I gave it up last night and turned in at 8:30 because it was too cold to stay up watching tv and reading. Those warm covers were ever so inviting and for some reason the back of our house is warmer than the front. I even thought about staying in bed in the warmth all day. Thinking is about as far as that thought processed!

Yes, I’m sure my gas bill will reflect at the end of the month that we actually do have heat! We just are not used to temperatures below 40. Unlike my friend Susannah, living in an apartment in Manhattan, our heat is a constant. Hers? Not so. Yesterday she said it was down in the 20’s, the boiler was out, and her landlord had promised her the plumber was on the way – yeah right! I think she got heat after midnight. She has to walk around her apartment dressed to the nines in three or four layers adding to or removing as necessary. What a life! I have nothing to complain about. (Check out Susannah’s blog, athingirl  for a laugh every weekday morning. She will tell you about the cold and most any other thing that comes to mind!)

H has gone hunting and when he asked if I wanted to tag along I declined. It’s 43 out there and the wind is blowing. Anyone who would spend the afternoon sitting in a tree waiting on Bambi’s father to come out into a clearing on a day like this is not in their right mind!

And if he does get that deer he wants I don’t have any idea where he is going to store the meat. We sold our freezer when we moved into this house so… There. Is. No. Room. Period. Exclamation Mark! If the temps stay so low I guess we could hang the meat outside as we may have done while homesteading in Alaska and then run out and hack a chunk off every evening for dinner. Hummm? Maybe the deer will be lucky today.

As I’ve been  cooped up in the house all week I’ve been trying to organize the mess and jumble of ‘stuff’ surrounding us every day and I haven’t put my contact on for three days. It hasn’t seemed necessary. I only wear one in my right eye to see distance. How far away do I need to see in an 1145 square foot house? Not far I can tell you. Everything is right next to me or under foot. It’s just not where I can find it when I need it. That is the reasoning behind this massive organizing spree I am on.

You want to know how easy it is to lose something important in this small of a space? Verrrrry easy. It’s always on top of something, under something, behind something, or crammed into the back of a drawer in the wrong room. You noticed I didn’t say in a closet? Let’s hope nothing is lost in those. The three closets I have are so small there isn’t enough oxygen to keep a candle burning.  I’m still missing three pair of scissors from last year. They too, will turn up when I least expect it.

Now that I’ve vented about all the cold and small spaces let me go tidy things up around here a bit, get dressed, and make it look like I’ve done something constructive when H comes in from hunting – hopefully without Mr. Bambi’s Dad. He asked me yesterday when he came in from work why I haven’t washed those dishes in the sink. There were only two bowls and a cup and some silverware! I came right back at him and asked him why he hasn’t removed that old dryer off the carport in the last three years. He didn’t say anything else on the subject and that folks is another story! 😉

Elle

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

14 responses »

  1. I understand and sympathize. I lived in north Florida/Panhandle for 30 years. No winter is colder than a Florida one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. In northeast AR / Memphis / northwest MS, has warmed up to the low 30’s. Was 8 degreeeees a f..f..ff…few days ago! Now have freezing rain forecasted today & tonight. Will be happy to trade for your weather!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Ha ha, loved this post, whereabouts in FLA are you? It has been pretty brutal up and down the East Coast Ill have to say. We are in DE and my word the lows have been in the teens these past few days, the highs in the 20’s. It’s all relative I suppose, we used to live in TX, and before that Canada…. brrrrrrrrrrrr! We are escaping for a few days next month to Sarasota, I’ve never been there, but hear it’s lovely, I hope the weather is agreeable then :). I do like the changes you’ve made on your site, and I see your badge up there, brand spanking new and proudly so 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. If it were 30 in Mew York I’d be so happy. Right now it’s 20 and it’s suppose to go up to 30 but not till later. I love the ides of the mail slot…one of those cats though might decide to be your mailman and hop through with a letter, so watch out. You know how smart cats are. LOL

    I love the new face on your blog. Well done matey 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I like your tone and humour, Elle. We’ve been having buckets of rain and tree-trunk-shaking blusters of wind and you’ve been having icy conditions in Florida. Hang on in there, spring is coming!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hmmm, having seen the weather maps. The eastern seaboard appears to being slammed again, this year.

    Do you believe in global warming, due to CO2?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

