RSS Feed

Ready…Set…Engage!

Ready…Set…Engage!

I had this post all written out neat and tidy earlier as I was taking a shower. (I get my best ideas there.) Now it seems a bit fuzzled and stuck in a corner of my brain, not budging and I can’t seem to prod it loose. Sometimes my thoughts zip in and out of my head, barely touching down before the next one arrives. This is where I need my USB cord to attach to my brain. I’ve thought of having that port operation, but can’t locate a doctor who specializes in USB port adaption surgery. Know of any? Send him/her my way. Does this happen only to me or do other writer/bloggers have this same problem?

See! Gotcha! This is where you are supposed to engage, interact, comment. Go ahead think of something interesting to write in that comment box below. Answer those questions I just fired at you. I’ll wait on you…You might want to grab a pencil to keep by your side until you finish reading this piece.

It’s all about the engagement so it seems. I’ve engaged in a whole lot of new blogs this week. I’ve commented and followed and have actually had this post – ‘And The Story Continues…’ –  re-blogged – not once, but five times today! WOW! That was awesome! (Now my hair will dry fuzzy because I stopped in the middle of drying it when I had that last thought.) You have to seize the moment when you can people!

I have had about 75 – that’s right folks – 75 new followers in the past week! Maybe more by the time this post becomes public. That may not be much of a number to the well-known all-out-gone-viral blogger, but to me it’s fantastic! It’s like a feeding frenzy. I love it. Thanks guys! Now I have to keep you happy with great content and I intend to.  I wouldn’t want any of you to not get what you signed up for.

I’ve even had some book sales with ‘Crossing The Line’ from all this activity and hope to get some Amazon reviews from that. That’s right – it can be done. Just tap on that book cover to your right or on this link and it will zip you straight away to Amazon. How cool is that? Wait! Don’t leave yet! Finish reading this post first. Crossing will still be there when you are done. I Promise.

I  follow a lot of blogs myself and I always try to read or at least look at each new post that pops up in my WordPress reader daily. I’ll be honest with you. I don’t read everything. I followed you for a reason. Something you said or maybe even your title sparked my interest and you may not do it with every post, but I’m sure you will again. Keep the faith! Be honest. Do you read every post that comes up in your reader? See – there’s that engagement thingy again!

I’ve realized recently blogging could be a full-time job. So much to see and so much to do. If only it paid the bills! Sigh I’m writing this in my spare time – yeah right! Who has any of those freebies to dole out? I only have spare time because I make spare time. I have left so much undone this week you don’t even want to know. That to-do list has left the building!

Remember this tip. The first few lines of your newly published blog post appears as a blurb in the WordPress reader urging readers to your site, so make that first paragraph count.  And with every like and comment you leave on fellow bloggers’ comment sections your gravatar appears and makes it easy for a reader of that site to click and arrive on your doorstep, pen or errr…taping finger in on hand!

I’ll see YOU in the comment box! Right?

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

21 responses »

  1. Love your energy and enthusiasm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. My blogging emails have gone gone from 0 to 35 a day .. I read and reply to as many as I can .
    The wake and write in the night syndrome is kicking in again.
    Last time I was doing this was in the eighties. I was a budding folk singer songwriter. My former husband had to put up with me diving out of bed and grabbing my guitar before I forgot the tune and lyric that was buzzing around my dream!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Right! 75??? I’m totally impressed! And jealous! I say it’s worth a fuzzy head! I’m continuing to learn vicariously through you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I’m re-dabbling in this blog thing, with Blogging 101. Nope, I don’t read all that’s in my Reader – right know I’m stocking it up. But I do agree that if I follow someone, it’s for a reason, and I’m glad to have found your “voice” here.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Not a good idea to ‘stock up’! You may get buried in the bulk of it. LOL! Time just slips away as I’m reading sometimes and then there are no hours left in the day. But at least I had fun while it lasted! 😉 Thanks for stopping by and for the comment! Hope to see you around lots.

      Like

      Reply
  5. You are seeing me for the first time, in your comment section and also your blog. Hi 🙂 Enjoyed reading your post – fun and lucid, informative as well. You know I get writing ideas just before drifting off to sleep. Then imagine my hassle when sometimes I decide to wake up and quickly jot things down somewhere, anywhere. I forget everything in morning otherwise, you see !
    Yes, so far I am managing to read almost everything I’m getting in my reader. Makes me a choosy follower that way, and a much less popular blogger…but that’s how I am I guess…
    The email exclusivity makes sense though, nice idea ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. A USB brain port would be nice! If I’m stuck I just start writing, to get it out and get it flowing. Then I tweak and adjust!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I put blogs I follow closely into my email. There’s so many in my reader I’d be scanning twenty-four seven if I tried to read them all and it still wouldn’t get accomplished. As it is, I get over a hundred emails every day and even from those I may only read twenty. I scan them all at and least try to “like” them…even if I don’t have time to chat.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’ve had another blogger tell me the same thing this week. Yes! I made her email list! 😉
      I’m afraid I may miss something good if I rely on my email. Sometimes I can’t get them to open properly and I use my phone to read in every spare minute I get. My reader works great with my phone. I know H is tired of seeing me whip that phone out! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Nope, can’t say I do. Read everything, that comes up through Reader. Ask me again sometime. Thanks Jamie.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Good tip on the first few lines of a post helping attract attention. -makes note-

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

