RSS Feed

Reading Between The Lines Is Sometimes All We Can Do

Reading Between The Lines Is Sometimes All We Can Do

 

Do we always know what they are talking about? No. But it would help to have some sort of dialog sometimes to dissect for an answer. These are some terms my family has used over the years to communicate with others. I guess it made sense to them at the time.

  1. Last morn – Cadence’s term for yesterday
  2. Pointed cheese – Kerri’s term for sharp cheese
  3. Dot your i – Blink your eyes  (what Terri did when she was learning to spell her name and I told her to dot her i)
  4. Corner eye – This is the eye Jessie told me to look out of to see her in the back seat while I was driving. “Look out of your corner eye Mom.” She was about four at the time. I guess I had said too many times I could see her out of the corner of my eye.
  5. Tringes – I knew a girl who called fringes this. She wanted tringes on her costume. (Not family but we humored her.)
  6. Biper’s – Lia’s term for diapers when she was two.
  7. Figna – Surely everyone knows what this means! – Fixing to as in “I’m fixing to go home.” Not even good English! My girls and their friends used this term in high school. It sounded like they were too lazy to say two words. Just slurred them together.

Now there is a new term out there I’ve been made aware of. It’s BLANK – NOTHING – NO ANSWER – IGNORE! That’s it. I send Andrew a text because I haven’t talked to him in a few days and he was a little stressed with the beginning of classes this term and that’s what I get. All of the above. I should understand because he’s such a busy, busy, guy as you can tell from reading this and this.

I’ve sent him a few texts – “Balance in your account is $xxx.”  “Have you started classes yet?” “Your refund came in. It’s in your xxx account. Use only for your books!” “Did you start back to work yet?” “I just deposited $xxx in you xxx account. Be frugal.”  I’ve even sprinkled in “I love you” and “hope you have a good day.” To things like this I get no response. And did you notice the majority of these texts are concerning his finances? These are things he needs to know.  Someone has to keep it straight. Does he even read those texts?

Oh we have other conversations. Sometimes pretty lengthy and informative ones. And as you can see – sometimes not. Often I get one word answers to my questions. “Yes”. “No.” “Maybe.” “OK.” This is where I have to read between the lines.

Sure he’ll get in touch if there is an emergency so I let it go for a day because I wouldn’t want to be blamed for adding more stress to his overloaded mind. Then last night I send him another text because I’m not very patient and it seems he has fallen off the face of the earth. “Are you ok?”

This was his answer a few minutes later. “Did Dad check on that drumset?”

My response was, “No. He’s been sick. Will check with playground this week. I guess this means you are ok?”

Twelve hours later and I’m still waiting to hear…..

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

20 responses »

  1. I love those familyisms that slowly because a sort of internal language. In my family, for instance, we say “your head’s on backwards” for when the clasp of someone’s necklace comes around to the front.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi David! I responded and it didn’t go through, so if you get another one that’s why. 😉 – That’s a new one on me. I’ll have to remember it. funny! And when there is no response to a text or call, it means I’m ok! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  2. Oh, girlfriend, I feel ya. It does get better though. My son graduated and got a good job and a really nice girlfriend. He seems to keep in touch a lot more now. At least he answers his phone when he sees it’s momma calling. That’s more than I can say for my daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 😉 I try not to worry Lori. He’s the baby and it has been hard to let go – plus he’s the only boy and has 4 older sisters. He did call today and we had a pleasant 2 minute conversation with him asking me to please send his debit card to him. His other has a crack in it. I did just that and hope it arrives before he decides he needs to use my spare one! LOL! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  3. But everyone makes fun of me for talking to Meggie so much… There is good and bad with that…If she’s unhappy, so am I. If she’s happy my heart sings… I just have to remind Rob on occasion that if he doesn’t call me back within a reasonable amount of time, if he doesn’t answer my call, I’ll send the police out looking for him… I think it annoys him… Nothing’s easy with kids! If we didn’t love them we wouldn’t check on them.
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Sounds like that stage kids go through, you know that stage when the world revolves completely around them and everything you say to them is nagging or bugging them? Don’t worry Elle wait till he’s got kids of his own and u can remind him of these times, lol. See there is some fun in being a mum! Until then, let ‘no news is good news’ be your maxim. 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Boy do I relate! My daughter (Sr in college) texted me the other day and told me she felt the only time I texted her was to badger her. That was because I hadn’t heard from her in 3 days! I had to reply “I totally understand my daughter; sometimes I feel the only time I hear from either of my kids is when they need something or something is wrong). Perhaps we both can do better with the meaningful language of I love You. It’s worked the last two days! It won’t last, but it is SWEET when it does, huh?

    Like

    Reply
  6. I get this same set of answers from my siblings! I get so annoyed! haha. (no kiddos here)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I like when I develop my own way of talking with friends or family members… it makes me feel closer to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. It sounds like you have your own language. It’s sweet Elle. I always love when you write about your kids, especially Andrew. Loved the dog story. Maybe you’ll rerun that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. When I don’t hear from my kids in awhile, I tend to tell myself that all must be going okay in their lives–because I’d hear from them if it wasn’t. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. As I’m reading this, my son (away in college) sends me a text: “Hey little girl” (my kids have called me this for years…longer story). I don’t hear from him frequently either but that’s OK, I also know he will be in touch when he needs to.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yep Kayrn. That’s what happens. They inch away from you and he’s the baby so this is harder than it was with the girls. I know he’s ok but its nice to get a response! Now if I could just get him to take care of the finance part of his life! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

