RSS Feed

Here Kitty, Kitty, Kitty

Here Kitty, Kitty, Kitty

Do you know what writing does to a person besides sometimes making us sleep deprived and crazy? My brain is always on overload becoming necessary to have that USB Port Adaption surgery. so that WARNING – OVERLOAD sign won’t continually be blinking.What makes it worse is I have discovered new tools through Blogging 101 to make this blogging experience even more fun, thus allowing me to ignore the fact that I have ‘What Line’ simmering on the back burner. It’s time to turn up the heat on that process!

Post Formats. Yep! That was the subject and I didn’t even know there was an option. The options on my WordPress dashboard are multiplying like cats! Sure I’d seen that little box to my right with the Format title each time I wrote a post. That was something I didn’t want to mess with though. Scary, scary! But according to Michelle W. “You can’t break wordpress.com, and anything you can do on your blog, you can also undo.”  (Except sometimes I have a difficult time trying to remove an image box!) Tell me how to undo that will ya?

So, with those words of wisdom ringing in my ears, I began to click away! My options were Standard, Aside, Image, Quote, and Gallery. It was like being at the eye doctor. This one or this one? This one or this one? Here or here? So many decisions to make!

And I though I knew everything!

And I thought I knew everything!

I’m not sure which one I like the best. None of them except the standard format I have always used – because I thought I had to – shows my little about box at the end of each post and I have grown used to that little box.

So, I jumped in and re-posted my dog story that had been requested. Yes, that’s right! I had a request! 😉 I used the Aside format which is quite good. It’s all italics. I’m just worried some may find it harder to read. I do like the white background box it provides though.

The Quote option will probably have to be for – you guessed it! – quotes. Otherwise it looks like the content all runs together making it really hard to read.

Now on the Image format there is another white box with italic print and it is all centered. Oooh! I know! I know! I can use that for my next poem! I doubt that will ever happen. Once is enough!  See for yourself here.

Gallery is really close to the Standard option except No. Little. About. Box. And no featured image. Actually the only format my featured image shows up in is the Standard format.

What to do…what to do… I believe the Standard format has my vote of confidence – unless I write that other poem or quotes start forming in my head.

Now I wonder what other little gems are hiding in this dashboard? Hummmm? Here kitty, kitty, kitty.

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. Nice to see someone’s as bewilderd by blogging options as me! But I think we’re not the only ones… Thanks for the like on my Headmaster post – I think some people found it a bit odd!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I need some lessons on Windows 8.1. Whoever thought I’d have to have a new computer for my sewing machine? It’s about as needy as the sourdough starter… Or am I the needy one? For about an hour I’ve been trying to get to the screen to shut down the computer… Bob has messed with it too…he finally got it! Then I read your blog and realized I wasn’t the only one bumfuzzled by modern technology!
    HELP!!! No kitties here!
    Debbie

    Like

    Reply
  3. That post looks great. You’re my new idol.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. If this dashboard ever meows back it will totally freak me out!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love the creative title, thinking it would be about cats – great surprise and so fitting.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

