RSS Feed

Five Tips To Make It Look As Though You’ve Been Productive All Day – Even If You Haven’t!

Five Tips To Make It Look As Though You’ve Been Productive All Day – Even If You Haven’t!

Have you ever had your spouse/partner/significant other walk in the door after work and ask you what you have been doing all day? Here’s a list of tips to make them believe that you HAVE been productive today. Productive in their eyes and productive in your eyes are usually tw0 different things. Sometimes you just have to have time to do something that is important to you!

  1. Most important is to get dressed! Even if you have lounged around in your pj’s reading, writing, watching your favorite daytime shows, napping, surfing the internet or playing around on your WordPress account, it’s better not to announce it. Thirty minutes before the usual arrive-home-time is plenty. So pry yourself away from those other activities and put on something flirty!
  2. Fit a couple loads of laundry in between Facebook snooping and naptime. You’d be surprised how it looks as though you have slaved over the laundry all day if you leave the folded clothes perched on the sofa and chairs because you have been sooooo busy you haven’t had time to put them up. (If you have a really sweet considerate ‘other’ he may even offer to put them up for you.
  3. Quickly throw all the dirty dishes from the sink and counters into the dishwasher and then when there are no utensils or clean plates for dinner you can say, “I loaded the dishwasher, but between the phone ringing with your mother calling and all that laundry it never got turned on.”  (He doesn’t really need to know how many times she didn’t call.) Then pull out that picnic basket full of supplies from last summers beach picnic. See there. Now you have saved yourself some time that can be used to waste tomorrow AND you have the setting for a romantic dinner for two .
  4. It only takes five minutes to sweep or vacuum that one room that you both spend the most time in during the evening hours. As soon as you are dressed plug that vacuum in!
  5. Turn the lights down low and light some scented candles. The dusty furniture will disappear and the air will smell like a garden of roses instead of a gym locker. Only you have to know the actual secret behind this act. It may also buy you some points when he realizes the bed never got made!

Can you add another tip to this? Someone may need this list sometime. You know I would never be this sneaky. I’m only the writer!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

43 responses »

  1. I quickly go through the fridge, throw out yucky stuff, wipe it down, and do a little rearranging. 5 minutes of work looks like a major overhaul.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. You forgot ‘throw a little bleach into the toilet bowl and then flush just before he gets home’ so it smells like you’ve been cleaning. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. You are a crafty so-and-so…but don’t think I’m not taking notes 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I love this! Getting dressed is hands down the best tip

    xo – naomi http://www.naomiinwonderland.com

    Like

    Reply
  5. This is so funny. I love the laundry on the sofa. Look at all the LIKES and comments you got. You’ve been really writing a lot. Happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. A man comes home from work to find the house in total chaos. The kids are crawling around unfed in dirty nappies. There’s piles of dirty laundry on the floor. Unwashed dishes from the night before in the sink. The children are crying because they’re hungry. He notices a note has been shoved under the door. The gas man called but no one answered. There’s no sign of his partner. With fear in his heart he goes upstairs. Has something happened to her? He enters their bedroom. She’s lying on the bed in her pyjamas reading a book! ! He explodes in anger. What the hell? He asks. She looks up cooly. “You know you always say you don’t know what I do all day? ” she asks. “Well, today I didn’t do them. ”
    Sometimes you have to run just to stay still!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I feel so much better if I get a shower, get dressed, put on makeup, put up everything in the bathroom, make up the bed and take laundry to the laundry room. Start a load of laundry. Then pick up in the kitchen and either unload the dishwasher or load it and wipe off the counters. Then everything looks pretty good and I can go upstairs to sew! You can do that much before you get on the computer. If I stop at the computer in the middle of my run thru I never get anything done!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. My trick is to put a lump of meat into the crock pot when I get up, then by the time he comes home, the house smells good and dinner is ready, well as soon as I open that can of pork-n-beans. He doesn’t need to know it took all of 30 seconds. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Jennifer Butler Basile

    Ha! Too funny! And too true!

    Like

    Reply
  10. LOL. I heard a comedienne say once that she puts some onion and garlic and olive oil in a pan and fry it up – the smell makes the family think you’ve been cooking all day. Although, then you actually have to follow it up with a delicious meal 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Thanks for sharing light hearted but very important information, lol.

    Stacey

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. Aych & Tee laughed!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  13. This is what I do everyday!!!! LOLOL

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  14. OMG, this advice is golden! Hahaha.. it’s funny, as to tip #1, even if I’ve been crazy productive, if I forget to get dressed and someone comes over while I’m in jammies, I feel like such a lazy slob! haha!

    Anyhoo, I found your blog through a fellow blogger, and I thought I would stop by and say hi! It would totally make my day if you did the same.. or better yet, keep in touch! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Got you on my list to check out! And yes, I do feel like I’ve done something if I at least dress even though I’m not going out. Some times I don’t put my contacts on. – sh… ;)~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  15. My mom’s best friend would put an onion in the oven, so the house smelled like dinner was cooking, even if she’d spent all afternoon out with the girls.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  16. From a snigger, to a guffaw! I see you’ve got all bases covered. Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  17. oh oh oh – so funny – no partner here at present, so I don’t have to play that game – does yours ever read your blog????

    keep in touch – really nice to have met you on the blogging101 course

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

