RSS Feed

WHAT TO DO WHEN TECHNOLOGY DOESN”T PREVAIL

WHAT TO DO WHEN TECHNOLOGY DOESN”T PREVAIL

 

I was away from the whirlwind of technology for three whole days! That was three very long days. You want to know what I did? I fussed and I fumed. A lot! Oh, woe is me. My phone was slow in updating so I only had so many blogs I could read and then commenting and liking were hit and miss. So my blogger friends I wasn’t ignoring you, I just couldn’t find you!

no internet

Facebook was sporadic, not updating for hours at a time. I know all my friends had not shut down! I felt like I do when making a phone call and no one answers and then I call two more people and they don’t answer either. Where is everybody? Am I the last one on earth? Who in the world will I talk to? Who will read my blog? We’ve all had those thoughts – or at least some of them!

Without all that technology to distract me I had plenty of time to read some more on Stephen King – On Writing which is BTW a fantastic book on writing and his life. I finished Lessons from Ducks by Tammy Robinson. She has some great books out there. And I started The Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. I always say I am going to write when at these events with H, but writing is not easy when I’m not in my environment. How many of you think this way?

Anyway I’m back and if you haven’t missed me it is because I actually had a couple posts scheduled or you just didn’t notice – which could be the case. haha   I love that option and even though I don’t always use it, I know I should.

I was in Troy Alabama for  SEUS at Troy University with H. He took a few of his students over for the event. The plus side of this was Andrew attends college there and we were able to visit a little with him and even see him perform with the symphony band and percussion ensemble a couple of times! (And buy him groceries. A busy, busy guy has to eat!)

The morning before we returned home I finally thought to ask Andrew to put his password for the campus in my Kindle Fire so I could at least read and maybe comment on a few blogs. Why didn’t I think of that sooner?

So here’s pictures  you may be interested in and it proves I wasn’t just being lazy and ignoring everyone!

 

WHS SEUS Participants

WHS SEUS Participants

Sound Of The South Symphony Band

Sound Of The South Symphony Band

Andrew on Timpani

Andrew on Timpani

Presentation from Phi Boota Roota To Mr. Hooten

Presentation from Phi Boota Roota To Mr. Hooten

Andrew - Percussion Clinic

Andrew – Percussion Clinic

John M Long Hall

John M Long Hall

To answer the question what to do when technology doesn’t prevail? Read…a lot. And take pictures! 😉 Hope you enjoyed these!

~Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

16 responses »

  1. Hi Elle…First, I can relate to this post soooo well! Feel so lonely sometimes when FB doesn’t update or I get no comments on my posts or no hits from my FB blogging page. Second, I have read Stephen King’s book, On Writing many times, and I recently finished Orphan Train and I;d love to know what you thought of it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Its nice to unplug once and a while. If nothing else it makes you cherish the sweet sweet WiFi of our time.
    Ally ~ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. You were very productive. We are discussing Orphan Train in our book group this week and I re-read it to make sure I remembered the story in full from a year ago. What a great book!!! Hope you like it, the author has Maine roots and speaks at our library in Bangor sometimes. Her book was chosen for Sarasota County here in Fl and she has given 2 sold out presentations in the area. She is delightful!
    Of course you also know Stephen King has a home in Bangor, Me. too-I spent a couple of years at the YMCA workout room at the same time as him-as you can imagine he was a hoot. He and his wife Tabitha do a lot of very nice things for Bangor and for Maine people. His book on writing is excellent. Enjoy your journey!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. There ya’ go. It really only proves, where there’s a will … etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I get totally lost away from social media. I try to escape from it, but feel lonely when I’m not writing and can’t write at all unless I’m in my writing environment. My husband just bought me a new iPhone 6 for Valentine’s Day. I’m so lame with new technology, so I’ve been totally dependent on him getting me up and running with it. He managed not to lose my contacts this time, but all my iBooks are gone. I just have those on my Kindle app. It will take a week or so, but hope to have everything in order soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh Susan! Lost your iBooks is a big deal! Hope you get them up and running soon. I’m waiting til July to get my iPhone six for an upgrade. We got Andrew one for Christmas. He loves it. Still, if there is no internet it won’t do me much good. Glad to know I’m not the only one who can’t write away from their environment. Maybe if I was in a snowed in cabin in the woods by myself? That’s not going to happen! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Glad you took photos and you had a (albeit, frustrating) reminder how convenient we have it sometimes. Yes, that “schedule” feature is very nice! I’m glad you mentioned SK “On Writing”, I had just mentioned that to an acquaintance Friday – now I’ll try to get a copy and read it too. thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

