RSS Feed

AS I WAS TOOLING DOWN THE STREET…..

AS I WAS TOOLING DOWN THE STREET…..

There’s an interesting blogging event going on over at KITTYKAT’S place. The name of it is ‘Word for Wednesday’.

Pick a word…any word will do. Write your thoughts on this word. This doesn’t have to be a long process. Make it fun, link back to her site and tag your post with W4W.

This sounded intriguing to me because I love words, especially words that aren’t commonly used in your everyday vocabulary.

Tooling around is the word I chose for my ‘Word for Wednesday’. I guess this would be considered two words, but I couldn’t come up with the right definition when just googling tooling.

Definition of tooling around – The art of walking around without a particular purpose in mind.

I love this word. It just sounds so mysterious and maybe a bit pretentious doesn’t it? My friend Susannah uses it now and then on her athingirl blog and I’ve been obsessed with it ever since. One day I’m going to post an essay with ‘tooling around’ in it. Just you wait and see. I must have tooled around at some point in my life. Don’t you think? 😉

Example sentences:

  1. Andrew was tooling around campus before his next rehearsal.
  2. Harry tooled around the school building during his duty period.
  3. Jessie tooled down the street as she shopped for her children’s clothing.
  4. My eye was on the mannequin in the window as I tooled past the department store.

I think I just wrote that post with tooling around in it! 😉 Have you got a favorite word you’d like to share your thoughts on?

~Elle

 

.

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

10 responses »

  1. i enjoyed reading the story – these things can happen. And it was interesting how you use “tooling around” or “tooled down the street” to mean drifting, is how I perceived it, or maybe dawdling, but I prefer drifting however slow paced. You have a nice site here 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Oh! And cute phrase! Don’t think I’ve heard it before. Over here if you call someone a tool it’s an insult!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Kittykat-bitsandbobs and commented:
    Thanks to Elle for joining in and spreading the Word… Pun intended!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. You really made me laugh, and all writers such as yourself, love words…they float our boat Elle. Really loved this…about ready to tool on down to the drug store…LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. This was both entertaining and educational. I will try to use tooling around in my daily life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

