RSS Feed

TROLLS, POLLS, AND LIFE COMMITMENTS

TROLLS, POLLS, AND LIFE COMMITMENTS

I promised the results of NOT ANOTHER FIFTY SHADES OF GREY REVIEW and here it is. If you click that link back there you can go to the original post and read some of those great comments also. Not everyone who took the survey commented, but the ones who did voiced their opinion of the book in much the same way. Take a look and see what you think. It was no wonder the vote went the way it did. I now have no reason to believe that I was the lone man standing.

Poll Results All Polls Edit Poll

Have you read Fifty Shades of Grey?

Answer Votes Percent
NO 42 82%  
YES 8 16%  
THINKING ABOUT IT 1 2%  

In the last few days I did a personal poll of my own. You didn’t catch that one? Well it’s because it wasn’t advertised and really wasn’t a poll until I started thinking about it last night.

This is what happened. Wednesday I posted my #reblogwednesday  piece on book piracy and then I fell off the edge of the earth so to speak. I haven’t been around to post anything, like, comment, share, or even read. My reader is full to the brim of unread posts and my email is overflowing with unread emails. My Facebook and Twitter posts have been nil to none and we’ve eaten a lots of eggs. What can I say? It’s an easy fix for dinner.

Andrew was in from school for less than twenty-four hours (post on that later) and I spent countless hours meeting a deadline for work. He’s gone back to school, I’ve successfully met my deadline, and now it’s catch-up time! Or is it?

How do I catch up with all this reading? I probably won’t – please forgive me because I know what each and every one of you had to say over the past few days was important. If I didn’t miss something that was  going to prevent me from going on with my life, then I’ll survive!….Was it? Let me know in the comments below and I’ll check it out! 😉

And now about that personal poll. As I sneaked a peek at my stats since I last posted and kept in contact with others, I noticed they were falling drastically from way up there to way down there and not much in between. I won’t bore you with the details. Let’s just say, I’m not happy with them as they are. 😦  Try this yourself. You will be amazed at the results!

This proves my point that if you want to be a successful blogger and have others, read, like, comment, and follow your blog then you must be consistent, make your presence known with interaction, and write interesting blog posts. I didn’t do that last week. Now I’m getting back to my regularly scheduled program and will be posting Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, and sometimes in between!

On a positive note – I got a new follower while I was typing this post. Thank you Vanessa Spark – whose website I can’t find 😦  – for following today!

Oh, about that Troll in the title? There isn’t one. I just thought that might catch your attention and it rhymed with poll. The only trolls I know of are the ones hiding under the bridge in ‘The Three Billy Goats Gruff’!

the three billy goats gruff

 

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

22 responses »

  1. Јust want to ѕay your article is as amazing.

    Tɦe clarity in your post іs jսst cool аnԁ i could
    assume you are an expert on this subject.

    Fiոe with your permission lеt me tо grab youг RSS feed tօ
    keep up tο date with forthcoming post. Thanҝѕ а million and pleаsе continue the rewarding ԝork.

    Like

    Reply
  2. First, It’s good to see you back, Elle! I was ‘off world’ for most f February, because I lost internet connection. The weather and/or my computer were in cahoots. So I thought, oh dear, will I be remembered? Will I have lost all my followers because I wasn’t able to be here? Perhaps some may have fallen to the wayside, but I have those who have consistently been following me, and have gotten new followers since coming ‘in from the cold.’

    Once you get your rhythm back, you’ll see it all starting to evolve to your liking.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Sigh, my stats are really discouraging. Something I wrote that I loved, no one reads it. Something Willy Nilly gets oodles…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. You write – they will come. Never a true word said – who by I don’t remember but it does seem to be true. My stats are like roller coasters the weeks I’m not prepared 😦

    I used to post willy nilly but now do try for a similar timetable to the one you are suggesting, however I find scheduling is a great thing to use also try to have one or two posts in reserve and use them.

    And to me Toll is a pied piper word in that if someone uses it we all trot along out of curiosity to see what’s going on. We sympathise with the poster if she/he is suffering and thank out lucky stars the **** troll hasn’t found their way to our place.
    Take care
    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • My problem is finding enough hours in the day to build up a reserve! Yes that Troll word gets them every time Cathy! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
    • It may have been said at other times, but I recall the movie, “Field of Dreams,” had this quote (which was it’s hook). “If you build it, they will come.” It was all the rage when the movie came out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Oh they will come but I’ve found you have to stay active to keep them there. 😉 ~Elle

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • True enough, though I must admit this is the most fun I’m having this winter! Having to be inside opened a world I might not have considered before. However, I absolutely understand how daunting keeping up with writing, reading, commenting and sharing the fun can be when the hours in the day keep shrinking and what we want to do keeps expanding. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          • Or what we have to do keeps expanding! My list keeps growing! ~Elle

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            • Yes, so does mine! And that doesn’t even include unpacking from the move we made last year. After we’d gotten everything in this house, and sold the other one, I just wanted to sit and do something for myself. I’m fighting the little voice which says, ‘but what about that meditation/red tent temple room I still have to create’ or ‘there’s all those boxes still piled up downstairs waiting to be sorted through.’

              So I come here and read and write, and comment, instead. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  5. The Troll: I’d thought that you had picked up a rabid 50 Shades Fan to troll your blog! I’m happy to hear that is not true, although if mentioning one in your title alone brings you readers, then maybe you should offend a 50 Shades Fan to get you a troll! It just wont be me, since I don’t feel strongly enough about that book!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Troll-de-rol, rol … I eat billy goats for dinner. Actually? I do not – vegetarian. Still it sounds fierce, doesn’t it? It stands to reason that the more you publish. The more people like, visit and follow. I’m still waiting for my website upgrade … still waiting, still waiting, still waiting! … yawn!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • What kind of upgrade are you waiting on because see – I’m way behind! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Hi Elle,
        Oh I decided to own my domain and go through wordpress.org. I’ve had a fun time of it chasing after the installers.

        Last time I did this. Different host and my own install. Which took weeks to sort out. This time I thought I would be a smarty-pants and pay someone to do it for me. Almost as much time wasted doing it this way and I’m fifty bucks lighter. If it’s not there on Monday? Some tree rattling’s gonna’ happen!

        Why did I decide to do it? Well I was getting a little tired of WP.com’s lack of flexibility. With fonts, colours, etc. Just craving the better experience in design, etc.

        Once I tried cleaning up the weaving studio. To get castigated by the instructor. Who said, “too much time gets wasted cleaning, when you could be doing”. I wonder whether I did another similar thing? Cheers Jamie.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • So far I have been happy with WP and have had no problems. Especially after taking the bloggers 101 and 201 and learning a few tricks of the trade! ~Elle

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          • WP is not the problem.

            The hosting website and mainly their partners, selling the installation are. There is definitely a lack of explanation, around the hosting process. As I earlier said. I did it myself about three years ago. It’s not easy to remember the steps and there is little explanation to guide one. I was hoping that ponying up the $50 would be an end to it? Nope! They are eager to take your money and they dangle all sorts of add-ons. In the end it makes my head whirl. … they eat billy-goats for breakfast.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  7. I agree with you about thenumber of visitors drops when you don’t publish anything. I am often behind reading my blogs.
    http://idahobluebird50.wordpress.com

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

