RSS Feed

THE TATTOO ARTIST

THE TATTOO ARTIST

Many, many years ago I was deep into altering wedding gowns. I could do it all. Shorten, lengthen, remove or add sleeves, change a neckline, bustle, add eight inches to the width, remove/add appliques…WAIT! Did that say ADD eight inches to the width? Yes it did and yes I did.

You know what happens when you have a bride who was determined to fit into a gown that is too small – waaaaay too small? You have to accommodate and accommodate is what I did. She was going to wear that dress come hell or high water.

There was also another problem with this dress. It had to cover the tattoo emblazoned on her right shoulder. The reason? Her father didn’t know she had so fearlessly gotten this tattoo a few years before while still underage. Where there’s a will there’s a way kids!

I often ask brides if they are sorry they got that tattoo now that they will be strutting down the aisle with it showing in all its glory – or not glory. The majority say yes, they wished they had hindsight.

Well let’s call my bride Tanya for lack of me not remembering her name and of course for privacy. (I wonder if her father is still in the dark.) Tanya was insistent I cover that tattoo somehow and make it look as though it was meant to be.

The dress had a low back in a V-shape and made of ivory silk taffeta with beaded lace appliques. I told Tanya after seeing her in the dress and realizing she needed eight more inches plus a tattoo covering that I would have to sleep on this one for a few nights. You see, I do my best work in my sleep. The only problem here is when I wake up, that dress is still hanging where I left it and all that work I did while dreaming was yet to be done! 😦

Tanya took the dress off after I did some measuring and left me to my dreaming. When I wasn’t dreaming I was tearing apart my sewing room looking for appliques I had saved from other wedding dress projects and trying to match some to her dress.

The next week Tanya appeared for a fitting. I had removed the zipper and added five inches to each side and tapered down to where the dress actually did fit her and tapered up to the shoulder seam leaving enough in the V-shape to cover the tattoo. After pinning the width in and adding the zipper back, the seams were covered with the appliques and the V back was much higher and miraculously the tattoo was covered also!

Tanya was ecstatic, I was a bit richer – for I charged her for sleepless nights and nightmares when I did sleep – and her father was no more the wiser! At least I don’t think he was. She paid me and I never heard from her again.

A good rule when wedding gown shopping is to buy one that fits and covers your tattoo!

~Elle

 

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

26 responses »

  1. Interesting story, I got here through the link you left on Julz’ your spare, I thought you were a tattoo artist, lol I love this story, you must be very ingenious to have done this right! I love the mention of nightmares over the whole thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Haha! Not a tattoo artist! Thanks for dropping in and the follow! You are my 400th follower and I think you need a prize for that. Send me your contact information to knowles.elle@gmail.com and I’ll send you a copy of my book ‘Crossing The Line’ . Let me know if you prefer kindle or paperback. 😉 ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  2. LOL. Wow you were one heck of a wedding gown remaker. 🙂 It’s funny how people will shop for the body they wish they had, not the one the inhabit.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I always really enjoy your stories. Wedding just seem to be a battle field wrought with casualties and comprise. *Shivers*

    Ally~

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I hope she chose a man that fit better than the dress. I am a nurse. You won’t believe some of the horrendous tattoos I’ve ever seen. They really look terrible when they get all saggy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Google it! You can see a video! Quite interesting! Julie Andrews came out and hugged her!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I didn’t watch the Oscars last night but I’m sure I would have noticed that!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lady Gaga did a terrific job singing the Sound of Music songs on the Oscars last night. Beautiful wig and dress…..the only thing that ruined it was when she lifted her arms and you could see the tattoos and the one that kept peeking out on her shoulder. Just can’t understand why people want to do that…..but that’s just me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. You’re an artist with great vision! Your story was well done, fun and imaginative! You might have had nightmares then, but you’ve got terrific fodder for writing now!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Tattoos, graffiti of the skin … I do not want one of those. That way, I know I’m not in the gulag.

    Nice post there, Elle. It says a lot, without really stating it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Ha ha good one. Do you still do alterations? I used to sew a lot in my hey day, but could never do alterations, in other words I followed the pattern to a T. Tattoos, hmmmmm that’s another subject, I do often wonder if people regret their decision after a few years though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Wedding dresses must be like shoes. Buy the one you like, not the one that fits. Guys have it so much easier. Just rent the Penguin suit and give it back when done. Why can’t brides have rental gowns?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. Congrats on rocking creativity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

