RSS Feed

DOES ANYBODY REALLY KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS?

DOES ANYBODY REALLY KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS?

Three clocks, two cell phones, a bedside alarm, a digital cable box,  various wristwatches and they all display a different time! Well, not exactly –  the cell phones are all synchronized! The list goes on and on. It seems everything technical has a time associated with it these days. At least the technical items are displaying the correct time.

We are clock poor and never have time to do anything. We have two clocks that chime on the hour and on the half hour. H has to wind them every day or so or every week. I’m not sure. I leave that up to him. If anything goes wrong like winding too tight or not wound at all it’s not my fault!

gold clock

One day I was on the phone with uhhh…no one! That’s right. I had one of those recordings telling me to press this number or that number or answer with yes or no or whatever. One of the clocks started to chime and the recorded voice on the other end said, “I’m sorry. I did not understand you. Please try again.” LOL! I wasn’t even talking. The clock was chiming!

marble clock

My cuckoo clock cuckoos and plays music, but the chain fell off the music wheel when we moved and I have yet to fix that. I would if I could find where I put the weight that belongs on the end of the chain. H got inspired this morning and decided to fix it and I couldn’t find the weight. We will stop this conversation about the weight here.

Andrew never liked the cuckoo because he said it would wake him up at night so he would push the tab in to silence it. He finally went off to college and I set it to cuckoo again. My granddaughter, Cadence, visited and I had to turn it off again. She said it scared her. She left and I set it to cuckoo again. That poor bird. He was very confused.

cuckoo clock

I don’t know what the problem is. I never even hear it cuckoo. Wait…does it? Does it still cuckoo? I know H pulls the chains down every morning as he leaves for work and he messes with the hands setting it to his watch time – which by the way is at least five minutes fast! He turns the hands the wrong way so the cuckoo is really cuckoo and squawks the wrong number of cuckoos!

When Andrew was home during the holidays all the clocks were chiming and cuckooing minutes apart and he looked at us with that question in his eyes. I could tell he wasn’t amused. “Really?” he said. “Why do ya’ll have all these clocks going off and they don’t even have the right time on them?”

We have to have something to amuse ourselves with since he left home. At least H does. The only clock that is mine is the cuckoo cuckoo!

I don’t know what we are going to do when the time changes and that’s soon! It might take a while to get them all on the right path.

What time is it at your house? Or do you know? 😉

CHICAGO – Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

33 responses »

  1. I’m just sleepy. This is totally messing with my already insufficient levels of serotonin. I have been a horrible sleeper since my teens and its gotten no better because of the change in time every year. It takes me about two weeks to fully adjust. So we definitely lost an hour of sleep and the bags under my eyes agree.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yep! In two weeks we may all adjust. I went to bed later than usual last night so that didn’t help. Get you some tea bags for those eyes! Lol! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • I did the same thing because my mind couldn’t wind down because I knew the time change was happening and I was anxious that my alarm wouldn’t work or the cell phone wouldn’t change automatically like it always does… nonsense worrying.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Finding Myself Through Writing and commented:

    Now that we’ve lost that precious hour of time while we slept fitfully through the night knowing when that alarm went off an hour earlier we would be dragging do we really know what time it is? Is this the right time or the wrong time? Did we gain or did we lose or did we get back what was lost in the fall? I’m very confused. How about you? ~Elle

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Great post. A while ago I wrote a post about all of the clocks I have in my place and how none of them show the same time. And yes, when the time changes each year, it is a real hassle to go around and make sure that all of the clocks and watches show the same time…or at least a reasonably close proximity.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Enjoy yourself … it’s later than you think …

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Time is only as important as you make it. I do have a number of clocks Round but I never know what time it is.
    http://idahobluebird50.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. You’ve got me humming that song now, Elle! Chicago was a big favorite of mine – the first concert I ever went to. And for that full-circle moment, we’re actually seeing them again in May – minus an original member or two. I’m good as long as trombone-playing James Pankow is still in the mix! NOW can you guess how old I am??

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. LOL! The phone says 4:35, the thermostat says 16:35, watches are alllll different (if they have working batteries) and the stove says 4:39. It’s a mess.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. I’m so laughing here! This is almost exactly like our house. Before we got married, I never even wore a watch. They wouldn’t work on me. So I never knew what time it was, and btw, I LOVE that song, and Chicago! 🙂

    Anyway, we have an old desk with a bookcase on top, and we removed all the books (to the downstairs library) and have all of these little wind-up clocks displayed. I thought it would drive me crazy, all the in synch and then out of synch tick tocking, but what is interesting is that it is actually soothing. It often sounds like a bubbling brook. And Mr. Quantum winds they all every morning just before breakfast.

    When we first moved in here, (once my parent’s house), my folks had this old WW2 cuckoo clock. I know when I was a little girl, it worked then. But it might have been the move up here that stopped its ticking and cuckooing. When we first were clearing out the house to move our house in here, we were able to get it to cuckoo, but for some reason, it’s now stopped. We also have a grandfather clock that has stopped. Mr. Quantum is looking into fixing clocks so maybe one day they’ll add their chimes and cuckoos to the regaling symphony.

    And yes, like your house, not one of the mechanical clocks is set to the right time. BUT, they are right two times a day! 🙂

    We do have 2 atomic clocks and one atomic watch, so we do have the right time to the exact second? minute? I don’t know. But I still never know what time it is lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. We have a ship’s clock. It dongs on the half hour and hour on an 8 hour rotation. And I also think we should do without day light savings time!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. OOPS – typo – did not mean double grandparents.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Chime clocks are not for telling time, they are for unsynchronized entertainment. The first time I visited my wife’s grandparents grandparents house for an overnight stay, I was warned about the clocks. Carol’s grandfather loved repairing mantle clocks. There were at least two in every room of the house including the bathroom. One can only imagine the cacophonic symphony at midnight and noon.
    My children now have a few of his clocks. I rely on my iPhone since I do not have to wind it. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. I enjoyed your post. I’m clock poor these days too (which is a disgrace as I spent three years as a clock product manager). I love to see a nice clock, but don’t like the ticking. I don’t wear a watch and consult my iPhone (or computer) if I want to know what time it is! How life changes!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  13. You encouraged to count my clocks and I have 7 including my phone…and I do know, they should be kept away from you while you sleep. I leave my cell on my desk but it’s still pretty close since my place is small but cozy…do I need all these clocks is the real question.

    Nice piece Elle…cuckoo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  14. I love clocks! I have a whole wall of them, all different kinds. The reminder that time is moving along no matter what I’m doing, ( or not doing) motivates me. We only have each moment that one time and then it’s gone forever!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  15. I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately, heard that I need to not keep electronics in my bedroom. Now when I wake up in the middle of the night confused, I have to walk into my living room to see what awful hour it is!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  16. I hate it when those recordings pick up on a noise and react. Ever be patiently listening through long instructions then someone walks up to talk to you, which restarts the recording? So frustrating.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

