RSS Feed

Daylight Stupid Time

Daylight Stupid Time

It’s something we all must live with until Phil is elected president or sexiest man! ~Elle

The Phil Factor

This is my bi-annual reminder that tonight in the U.S. we move our clocks forward by an hour and my reminder that it’s stupid. I’ve been posting this since 2006 and will continue to do so until we do away with Daylight Savings Time.

Daylight-Savings-Time

When I’m elected President, or Sexiest Man Alive, whichever comes first, I’m going to pass a law getting rid of Daylight Savings Time. I don’t know if other countries do this. I do know that not all the U.S. states abide by it. Daylight Savings Time was created about 100 years ago to give farmers more daylight in which to do their work in the fields. Call me crazy, but why the hell didn’t someone just suggest that the lazy ass farmers drag themselves out of a bed a little earlier each day? Because those cud chewing, overall wearing, udder jerking lay-abouts can’t be bothered to set…

View original post 454 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

7 responses »

  1. Like yourself, I have thought the whole exercise … pointless. I can only assume that some powerful bankers, somehow profit from this. Otherwise, it would be long gone?

    I saw one of those blurbs on facebook, today. That said, “only government could cut a foot off of a blanket. Sew it on the other end and believe it made the blanket longer”?

    Makes me wonder, exactly how farmers have got along for 5,000 years or so, without the exercise? For that was the rationale during WW2. To somehow give them more natural light for feeding times?

    I prefer standard time, year around. If a person wants more light? Get up earlier. Then, again, few people are morning people like myself. Even in winter, I’m up by 5am latest. Usually around 4am. Last week, I was up by 2.30am after trying to sleep for an hour. … ho hum!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I love that picture from the Princess Bride. So true. 🙂 In Korea they don’t have Daylight Savings Time and they get along okay, so we could probably do without it.
    -David

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Elle, I agree that Daylight Savings time is stupid. Originally, I heard it was created to keep school children from going to school in the dark. What difference does one hour make anyway? I guess it is a scientist’s brilliant way of making variation in time. I keep getting tired of setting the clocks back and forth, especially the one in the car. It is a pain to set!:) Anne

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

