RSS Feed

LISTEN TO THE MOCKINGBIRD

LISTEN TO THE MOCKINGBIRD

After a day of doing what I would rather not be doing, then a good rant on my post published earlier today, and a good night’s sleep I feel better. I probably shouldn’t rant like that, but I did – now I’ll get on with the rest of my week.

Really, I have a lot to be thankful for – healthy kids, healthy grandkids, healthy husband, and healthy me. Steady income, food on the table, and a warm home to live in. Who could ask for anything more?

And I’ve got mockingbirds! They are finally back. We missed them last year. The weather is finally warming up and the birds are out in full force.  I could hear them singing outside Andrew’s bedroom window Saturday morning. Thank goodness he wasn’t home to hear their lovely song because they could have been turned in to mockingbird stew. Maybe he’s so grumpy because of the fact they actually do sit right outside his window and the song they sing if you listen closely sounds like, “get up – get up – get up you sleepy head.” That’s not at all what he wants to hear so early in the morning or in the middle of the night.

He said it’s like a zoo around here right outside his window. If it’s not the birds waking him up early, it’s the squirrels chasing each other up and down and around the trees and jumping from limb to limb like a band of monkeys chattering loudly. They are hilarious to watch and I could sit for hours observing them. Andrew would probably turn those little squirrels into stew too if we would let him shoot them from his bedroom window!

What’s scary is stepping out the back door at night and there sits a raccoon the size of a dog washing his dinner of cat food in Tigger and Fosters water bowl or the possum snatching a quick bite to eat before sneaking back across the creek to her babies in the park. I know they must have a sign posted of our location in special animal language telling the animal kingdom of the best place to eat on the block. I wonder which species collects the dinner tabs? They could at least leave us a tip for accommodating them so elegantly.

An all day and night buffet!

An all day and night buffet!

The turtles will be back soon sharing the cat food with the cats. I’m anxious to see which ones return from last year. There were a couple new ones in the mix. One was a box turtle about three inches long. I had never seen one so small. Though they are noisy at times I love to listen to those mockingbirds sing and call to each other. They are the sound of springtime to my ears!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh yeah, I’ve also got a refrigerator full of  Florida strawberries. What in the world am I going to do with a flat of strawberries? That’s eight quarts! Cut them up and freeze them before they go bad is clearly the best option or eat quickly. I don’t plan on sharing with the zoo animals!

~Elle

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. Make meringue nests and fill them up with strawberries. Mmmmmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. What a magnificent menagerie! I’ll have to come back and keep reading. I had to go outside to YT to see the Mockingbird song, and ended up watching several hatchings! It’s been so long since I’ve been outside. I mean really outside, where there isn’t a couple of feet of snow covering up everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I believe rants can be cathartic…as long as there’s a sprinkling of love in them, which yours certain do! Ever wonder what the rest of the world is thinking listening to a rant….usually “thank goodness I’m not alone.” hugsnblessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I am in the same boat as Andrew. It’s all well and dandy till my sleep gets interrupted then all beasts must go! I do love strawberries!

    Ally ~

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Strawberry tarts or cobbler share with neighbors but not that raccoon then you’ll never get rid of him! Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Love those Plant City strawberries, and the festival is fun, too. Funnel cakes with strawberries and whipped cram. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

