RSS Feed

Our Peeping Tom

Blackie is our neighborhood cat. Although a bit scruffy, he roams from door to door making himself comfortable for meals and bedding. I don’t know what his schedule is, but sometimes he picks our house. There is always food and water waiting. Now I see I’m not the only one with a soft heart. Glad our winters aren’t as harsh as yours! ~Elle

Icescreammama

I started feeding him about six months ago.

He sat outside the sliding doors of my kitchen window peering in as I shuffled half asleep through my early morning routine – turn on Keurig, take vitamins, feed Buzz, my old cat swirling between my legs, make the kids’ lunches.

It was Buzz who alerted me to his presence by howling and hissing at the glass screen loudly. I looked and saw him there, staring back unaffected, his coat scraggly but his stance proud. Immediately I noticed that he resembled a cat I once had many years before who had died.

“Well, hello Jeffy,” I said to the stray, making the mistake of naming him out loud. I may as well have bought him a collar. “Fancy seeing you here.”

“I’ve got to feed him,” I apologized to my own feisty feline, stroking her behind the ears and looking her in…

View original post 385 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. Two memorable strays came to mind as I read this. Snowball was a stray at our first house. He would lay on our front porch only if we were not home. The moment we pulled into the driveway, he would scurry off. Boots was our neighborhood tomcat. He too liked our front porch. He also used our garage when he needed a safe place to rest after loosing battles with neighboring dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

