RSS Feed

3 ITEMS EVERY HOME SHOULD HAVE

3 ITEMS EVERY HOME SHOULD HAVE

All I wanted to do was write an essay to post for tomorrow morning and “all hell breaks loose” as my mother would have said. My train of thought was off in all directions and now I can’t even remember what I was trying to write. It wasn’t making much sense any more anyway.

Andrew, home for a few days during spring break, was going over some music for a concert he is playing in for the Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra on Saturday. H was off getting the oil changed in his truck and I was trying to take advantage of the first down time I’d had in a week to write.

Why I even thought I might have a block of time for myself is beyond comprehending. I stopped writing twice to show Andrew how to work the new printer – even though I’m still not sure of the mechanisms of that myself.

Andrew interrupts me again while rummaging around in the drawers of the china cabinet. “I know there are some razor blades around this house. Didn’t you find boxes of razor blades when we moved here? I need one.” (H’s parents kept everything – forever!)

“That was too many years ago Andrew.” So I get up and start looking. He said a box cutter would do, but I have no clue where one is.

H arrive home in the middle of this discussion and says he had one a few weeks ago when he was opening the box with the new TV. (The TV that is back in the box and taped up, sitting in the middle of my living room – in the way –  waiting three weeks for a shipping label to arrive to send back. That’s another story.) Of course he has no idea where he put it and I should know because…well because I’m the woman of the house and I  just should!

He tells Andrew there should be a box cutter in the work room or at least there should be some razor blades in there.

I suggest to Andrew he let his Dad go look for that because you can’t even put a foot in the door of that workroom because there is way too much stuff. (Shut my mouth!)

H comes back in with an antique looking box of razor blades I am sure would have the date 1967 or earlier printed on it if things like that had dates printed on them.

“Sheesh Dad! How old are these anyway? They are probably all rusted.”

I commented, “They are old Andrew. You should know you don’t throw anything around here away. As long as you have it, it should work!” Yes, I was being facetious.

H ignored me while  picking through the box and finding a decent one handed it to Andrew. Then he took the box and put it carefully away with all the other crap antiques in his workroom.

I had settled back down to write again – but not for long!

“Mom, do you have any super glue?”

I close up my laptop. Time to give it up. “Not that I know of. I will have to look.” You know as well as I do it is always easier to look for something yourself rather than let someone else look. Especially boys and old men.

Now I can’t even remember the last time I used super glue. Everyone knows each bottle of super glue is a one time use. I’ve never been able to use a bottle more than once because the lid glues itself back on or it dries up. Take your pick.

After a half-hearted search my answer was, “Nope, no glue Andrew.”

By then I decided I might as well get dinner cooked because writing was not happening. It wasn’t meant to be.  H lighted the grill for the steaks we had marinating and proceeded to tell me what I needed to get ready for him to grill. (I’m shaking my head here.)

After dinner, Andrew picked up his tambourine off the heating pad on the floor – don’t ask because I can’t tell you. He wanted to know why that heating pad wasn’t heating.

I glanced his way and said, “You have to turn on the outside light for that outlet to work.” He gave me a disgusted look and flipped on the light.

I left them both in the front of the house with H listening to Andrew work on music. The tambourine is tambourining, the triangle is dinging and I should be glad there is no drum drumming! It’s much more peaceful in the back of the house –  or it was until H came back here and turned the TV on. I guess this will be the end of this post!

I don’t know what he needed that (1)razor blade and (2)super glue for and we all need (3)electricity!

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. You forgot something else you need in a household….wait for it …. the patience of Job or else you’ll wring everyone’s neck. Ha-ha, good post .I wouldn’t have been able to remember the subject for me post after being interrupted so many times.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Good thing you have a sense of humor. I love the image. Is that Andrew, H, or you?

    Like

    Reply
  3. This is such a great post! I think every woman can relate to this! I know I can. That it sounds so much like things here, had me laughing. I’d add one thing to your list of what’s needed. If you remember the commercial: Calgon! Your story was perfect for that ‘Calgon, take me away!’ moment. Simply a wonderful read and way to start the day off!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Humorous and a little sad. Never buy super glue. For one, it’s not super. That should be a lawsuit of false advertising? Like it’s written here. Use it once, at your peril. Never to be used again. What a waste. I prefer Welbond. A glue that works on most surfaces and can be used over and over again. If by any chance, some gets on your fingers? Then water cleans it up.

    I bought a whole box of razor blades, a couple of years ago. The blades have a metal strip on one side, to use without cutting oneself. Now my windows are free of those annoying specks of paint. I too have one of those electrical circuits that require turning on the switch. Since it’s just myself, it does not annoy others.

    My workshop is becoming cluttered too. Yet I’ll hopefully be moving soon and then It will start all over again. Electricity? It is annoying. All those street lamps, that stay on overnight. Guess who pays for them? Who’s getting rich from it all?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I looked at that box later. Who buys a box of 100 single edged razor blades? It was before my time! And that outlet is annoying. ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Maybe someone, wanting scrape of those fly-specks of paint?

        My Grandpa used to use them in his razor. My day had a machine to sharpen them. I always wanted to use it, when younger. It was intriguing to see the blade flip back and forth. Then after the stone side, came the strop.

        Wanns’ buy a slightly used niddy noddy? ;-]

        Cheers Jamie

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  5. Well get Andrew that glue (& the two other items…lol). Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Always hate that moment where I just put away the writing and decide to chalk the day up to a dud. Leaves me feeling off for a while. Dinner sounds yummy though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

