RSS Feed

DUAL DUTY

DUAL DUTY

So it finally happened. I was asked to sew up something I’ve never been asked to make before. And this time it was Andrew who did the asking – not one of the girls.

So here’s a picture of what I was asked to make. Do you have any idea what it is?

ONE OF A KIND!

ONE OF A KIND!

If you guessed a cover for a heating pad you are partially correct. This is a special heating pad cover – in two ways. One is that it is black (almost) and it will cover the heating pad Andrew uses to warm up his tambourine. No, I don’t know why that has to be done, but he does. Google it.

It’s also special because it’s made of a special fabric used to wrap your silver pieces in to keep them from tarnishing. Only because it is the softest black flannel I could find, but when I got home I realized it was actually a verrrrry dark brown!

Uh-oh I thought. He won’t like this. He was fine though. He said that would work. He just didn’t want that blue cover up on stage with him. He also wanted a snap, but was ok with a Velcro closure.

I told him when he polished his silver  he could put it in this bag to keep it from tarnishing. Yeah, what silver? He’s a poor college student. One day when he’s a famous percussionist he will have silver to polish and will be prepared. I have faith!

Got to keep that tambourine warm!

Got to keep that tambourine warm!

Off Andrew went to a rehearsal with his heating pad covered in silvercloth (the best dressed heating pad there) and you will never guess what happened then! I got a phone call and Andrew asked me if I would make Nozny – the percussion assistant at Troy – a cover for his heating pad. He said Nozny would buy him dinner if I did.

Of course I agreed to make it and put it in the mail Monday. I had just enough fabric left over for another one and it would only take about 30 minutes to make. After all Andrew has to eat doesn’t he?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. That’s funny because my son is a percussionist and I received an email saying he needed a tambourine and a heating pad for the Governor’s Honor’s Program this summer. I was sure the director made a mistake and meant beating pad until I read your blog. I’m still not sure why they need a heating pad but I like this cover and will make one. Thanks for the idea!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. At least the tambourine, was not green?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. The little things we do for the people we love…PRICELESS!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I will say again, how talented you are the way you can make things: pillows, wedding dresses, and now tassels, for lack of a better word. And your son is so lucky to have a mom who says yes to every need and whim. Feel free to quote me. PLUS YOU WRITE.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I wish I could make him a passing grade in math! And if I could I could make a fortune! 😉 He is so stressed over that class right now. He wasn’t in the survey done saying music kids excelled in maths and sciences! Thanks Susannah. ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. How clever you are!! Too cute 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

