RSS Feed

WHY I SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM SHARP KNIFES AND NEEDLES

WHY I SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM SHARP KNIFES AND NEEDLES

I don’t cook much anymore since it’s just H and I at home. It’s much more convenient and quick to go out, though not always cheaper. You can read about that fiasco here.

We did grill a few times when Andrew was home last week and with some leftover grilled steak in the fridge I was inspired to whip up some fajita’s last night. While waiting for a little dance girl to arrive for some costume alterations I gathered all my ingredients and started slicing. Some onion, bell pepper, a tomato, and an avocado for garnish was prepared and waiting and then I started slicing the steak into thin strips.

knife

That’s when it happened…I did it…I sliced right through my finger. It was the same finger I usually get caught under the needle on my industrial sewing machine. I think I was in shock because when it happened I just froze and stood there with blood pouring from the cut.

needles

 

I held it under cold water afraid to look, but knew I had too. It looked pretty bad to me. I wrapped it with a clean paper towel, applying pressure hoping to stop the bleeding and went in search for Band-Aids and Neosporin.

Have you ever had to apply a Band-Aid to your finger by yourself? It’s not an easy feat. You have to use the other nine fingers and your teeth to get it just right. I felt like a circus monkey performing a trick. H was on his way home but this couldn’t wait.

I should buy stock in these!

I should buy stock in these!

I was not even in the mood to finish that cooking project I had started. Isn’t it funny how something like this can ruin your day? I finished though and wondering where my little dance girl was I glanced at my phone and noticed she had texted about the same time I was slicing off the tip of my finger. She canceled and rescheduled for later in the week.

H was a little concerned about my finger and wanted to see it. I wouldn’t remove the Band-Aid in fear the blood would start spurting again.

At four this morning I woke up with my finger throbbing and removed the Band-Aid which helped the pain subside tremendously. Then I applied more Neosporin and another Band-Aid, (by myself again – men are never around when you need the) but not quite as tight and went back to bed to have nightmares about my finger falling off.

Next time I’m inspired to cook it will be something that doesn’t include using a knife. Who knew I even had a knife that sharp?

It’s better now if you were worrying. Do you know how hard it is to type or sew without an index finger? Not easy!

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

34 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear! You went a little far just to get a writing break 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Owie! I did the same thing last week, but the thought of stitches was worse than the cut. Hazardous occupation for scribblers – cooking – always away with the fairies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Haha! Those were my thoughts exactly Jo! I would have had to drive myself and sit for hours waiting probably. Who has time for that? I don’t even have time to cook some days. And where would that have left my little dance girl – though she did cancel! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  3. Take it easy Elle!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Ooww, sorry. My DIL just cut her finger the other day cutting frozen meat and needed up with three stitches. Not so easy to fix yourself up. Hope your better soon

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Ouch! *looks at my knives suspiciously* Really sorry you had to go through that. I know it’s difficult to anything without even one of our helpful digits.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Oh shucks!! That sounds painful Elle……tell you what? why don’t you mail me your knife – I cook every single day, and everyone always complains how blunt my knives are 🙂 Hope you heal soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Cut fingers=get out of dinner dishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Elle, slicing a finger is painful 😦
    Hope it’s all better now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Hi Elle, Sorry to read about this!

    Forget the neosporin. I use a cayenne pepper extract. It comes in a bottle and not only disinfects but has the cut healing so fast. Scars? Not since I began using this product. You may have difficulty finding it? Yet if ever the opportunity arises? Take it, no regrets.

    I use it on big cuts, small cuts and those annoying hangnail tears. I have had my bottle for about ten years and still have a quarter left, despite a couple of knocking overs. It is incredible.

    Does it sting? Not as much as you might expect? Tincture of cayenne to do. Do I avoid putting the cut to my mouth? …. duh! Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Nothing worse then feeling the pain of a knife going through your finger. Just the thought makes me cringe!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Yes!!! Many many bandaids. Hope your finger gets better.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. Perfecting one handed bandaging is a art in itself! Kudos to for successfully pulling it off. Kitchen accidents suck and do take the life out of whatever meal you were preparing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  13. Oh! Bandages are a must! Hope your finger gets better!

    Ally ~

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  14. Funny story – after the fact. My wife has always been known as Dr. Mom. Me? I am Dr. Phyx-It. Next time you attempt to cook, put on a GoPro. The video would go viral in minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

