RSS Feed

How I Got a Whole New Wardrobe – Free!!

Fatbottomfiftiesgetfierce with the ironing! I use my iron everyday because of sewing. It and it’s partner the ironing board are a permanent fixture in my house. I do still have a scar on my hand from ironing my dad’s handkerchiefs when I was eight. I would NEVER leave an eight-year-old alone with an iron! What was my mother thinking? ~Elle

Fat-Bottom-Fifties Get Fierce

How I Got a Whole New Wardrobe - Free!!I may have mentioned before that household chores are not my thing. I wish I was one of those people who cleaned when stressed, but I don’t. I’m more likely to eat. Which results in more stuff to clean. And I consider shopping to be a household chore. Something I have to do because I like to eat. Which works as incentive for groceries, but not so much for clothes. I figure if God really wanted people to buy clothes in malls He wouldn’t have allowed the catalog to be invented!

So if I really, really need a new clothing item, I find it in one of the plethora of catalogs that arrive in my mailbox weekly (clearly my name has been circulated throughout the catalog industry). If the ordered item fits and flatters, I order three more in different colors. If it doesn’t, it gets repackaged to be sent…

View original post 458 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for reblogging us, Elle! We’ve enjoyed, and appreciated, your friends stopping by!

    I have to agree with about the changes in childhood duties – I think I was about 7 when the iron-up-the-arm thing happened. In our house, everybody had their daily chore list and gender didn’t much factor into the assignments! Felt oppressed at the time (the neighbors kids got PAID to make their beds!), but sure appreciate the self-sufficiency our folks instilled in us early on. Shel

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hilarious! I also had to start ironing at an early age because of school uniforms and laundering them as well at the age of twelve. And I’ve gotten numerous scars in the name of self reliance.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

