RSS Feed

THE WRONG SIDE OF THE BED

THE WRONG SIDE OF THE BED

It may have not been a good idea to let my feet hit the floor this morning, but not because I got up on the wrong side of the bed. I lay here now writing this and wondering what lies ahead. 

It’s allergy season and after tossing and turning with a sinus headache and my eyes itching so bad I wanted to claw them out I woke for the second time at three am. The first time was at one-thirty when H got up for a middle-of-the-night bathroom break. Don’t you just hate that? Especially when you are the one getting up? 

Not quite back in the land of nod, I hear my phone go off with a text message. I didn’t reach over to look at it immediately thinking if if was something important from one of the kids they would call, not text. My Twitter notification sounds the same so I figured Twitter was the culprit keeping me awake in the wee hours of the morning. 

Curiosity got the best of me though. I had to see for sure and now I’m glad I did. 

Andrew! He was letting me know he had finished three out of four study guides for his music history class, was going to bed, and would I please call him at seven-fifteen to make sure he was up for his eight am math class. 

He’s had a hard semester with a couple harder-than-he-thought-they-would-be classes. He sounded in better spirits or at least as better spirited as you can sound through texts. A mother can always tell you know! 

   

   

Settling back down to get a few winks before the alarm went off it dawned on me Andrew had said three of four study guides were finished. Wait! What about the fourth? When would that one get done? Did he tell me earlier in the evening he had two to turn in or three? Where does that fourth one come into play? 

He must know what he’s doing. He’s gotten this far! I have to sleep or I’ll be worthless tomorrow. 

H got up an hour earlier than usual because he was planning on stopping in the woods on his way to work to listen for turkeys for about forty-five minutes. 

Of course this wakes me up because I always get up with him. I stayed snuggled under the covers until the last minute and when I rolled over to his side of the bed as he was standing there and started to get up, he pushed me away from the edge of  the bed and said, “Don’t get up on this side. Get up on your side. This is the wrong side of the bed for you.” 

Now I wonder what he meant by that? Will the rest of my day be crazy? Will Andrew not get up on time or not have all his work finished afterall  because that really will affect me? Will something bad happen? What does it mean to get up on the wrong side of the bed? 

I’ll never know the answer because I obliged him and rolled back over to my side before letting my feet hit the floor. 

So whatever happens today I can’t blame it on getting up on the wrong side of the bed. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Finding Myself Through Writing and commented:

    This came up on my Facebook memories this morning and I laughed when I re-read it! I’ve been so busy since January that I haven’t had much time to post so I’ll reblog this to give you a laugh too… ~Elle

    Like

    Reply
  2. First of all I love that you included the text messages…very clever and fun of you. And it made me laugh that he still needs his mom to wake him up. No alarm clock for him. He’s your cub alright.

    Loved this a lot Elle.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks Susannah. He doesn’t usually depend on me to wake him up and I really don’t like that responsibility when he hands it over. Not from so very far away. He doesn’t hear his phone ring or the texts come through and then I worry until I hear from him if he got up in time. At least if he’s at home I can shake him out of bed! LOL! He actually answered this time and then called me on the way to class! Wonders never cease! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Are we creatures of habits or is there truth to getting up on the right (or wrong) side of the bed. I choose to not experiment with that – just in case there is truth in the myth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I so look forward to ending my day by reading your blog posts. Praying Andrew had a productive and successful day with his class projects, and that your allergies aren’t too bothersome this season.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  5. Hmmm… I never considered that one side is right and the other is wrong. I sleep on the left side, if you’re standing at the end and looking at the headboard. Always have. Now I wonder if I’ve ever gotten out of bed on that other side? And what happened that day? Was it different? WONDERFUL post!!!!

    We don’t have kids, so we turn our phones off at night because we’d had phones who were other people’s numbers before we got them, and some folks just kept calling for them.

    How did Andrew do? What about that 4th part?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Now you have me worrying about that 4th part again! I never asked him about it, but I did talk to him 3 times before 10am and he seems in much better spirits since he had a meeting with his math teacher. Of course, as a mother, I had told him all along he would feel better after he talked to her! LOL! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Your phone? That’s amazingly tech-savvy! But what I like most is the way a night becomes a story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I really like how you incorporated the text messages into this post. It really brought it to life for me. How did you do that?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Took a screen shot with my phone then cropped it to the desired size. Actually I wrote and published this entire post on my phone. I don’t usually do that but went back to bed when H left so early to try to get a little sleep but instead wrote this. At least I was productive this morning! πŸ˜‰ ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

