RSS Feed

IS IT TURKEY SEASON AGAIN? SO SOON?

IS IT TURKEY SEASON AGAIN? SO SOON?

Yep! That’s right! It’s turkey season again and H is ready for the kill. I believe H and Andrew enjoy turkey season much more than they do deer season. Me? I’m not much of a hunter of turkey or any other game. You can read about my first sad experience with turkey hunting here – HERE TURKEY, TURKEY, TURKEY…

What is it about hunting of any kind in the wee hours of the morning that makes it so exciting? It can’t be getting up in the dark and going out into the cold to sit on the hard ground for hours on end waiting for the kill. Or can it?

I’ve been invited along on this first day of the season while H is off for spring break, and Andrew is back at school.  Even though I knew it would be an early morning wearing clothing that does not make a fashion statement, hard ground, briars, sitting still for waaaaay too long, and maybe no luck of seeing or hearing those turkeys. I said yes.  It’s not a given you are going to have good luck.

When the alarm went off at 4:00am I struggled with my conscience. Maybe I could be sick as an excuse, but no, I had promised. Up I got and dressed to kill, (pun intended) off we went into the woods again, in the dark, preparing to hunt turkeys. Evidently, they get up at daybreak and start gobbling.

Now if I was a turkey, I think I would sleep late, especially if I lived on Eglin. You can only hunt turkeys on Eglin in the mornings, so the smart thing for those turkeys to do would be to sleep late, have brunch, and wonder around the rest of the day or whatever it is that turkeys do all day until bedtime.

I do believe those turkeys had come around to my way of thinking because we heard no gobbling, and saw no turkeys. We did see tracks though and evidently hen tracks and gobbler tracks are different. You learn something new everyday. They sure look about the same to me. I wonder if  turkeys look at our tracks and say, “Look! It’s a human track!” Then they skedaddle right out of there into a hiding place.

hen tracks

hen tracks

gobbler tracks

gobbler tracks

human track

human track

On the drive out of the woods my head was nodding and eyes closing as H talked and pointed out this and that along the way. I was only comprehending a few words at a time of the conversation. He was giving me the grand tour as he decide to take a different route home to check out some other places we could hunt tomorrow. WAIT! Did he say TOMORROW? Did he say WE?

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

20 responses »

  1. You told me Harry was on Spring Break, but not that you were turkey hunting! Glad I didn’t call and scare away the turkeys! He can blame that on someone else!
    D

    Like

    Reply
  2. Oh rather you than me, lovely! But I guess it’s nice to be out among Mother Nature’s virtues at the shriek of dawn…do I sound convincing? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I’m not a morning person so this would be really hard for me to not be grumpy. I’ve never hunted. It might be something to put on the bucket list though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. The end of your story made me laugh out loud. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I get the whole hunting thing after reading a million books about Teddy Roosevelt who shot everything that moved. I don’t know how you’ll feel about this but –

    every Thanksgiving, I send 30 dollars to a place called…Save a Turkey so he’ll gobble one more year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • In the last 24 years H has gotten one turkey and Andrew has gotten one. I think they both like to go to hear them gobble. Same thing for the deer. They like to watch them more than shoot them, but neither would ever admit it. See – I told you you had a big heart Susannah. 😉 ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  6. I’m someone who does not hunt, or eat animals. And, they don’t eat me. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Oh man, I’d NEVER go with Clint. NEVER. Fishing sure but no hunting for this gal. He’s always out hunting and fishing and that’s about the only thing that he needs to get up early for that won’t annoy him. haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. I like fishing over hunting. I like catching even more. My most economical catches have come from the fish market at the grocery store.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Hahaha! We do fish in the summer and I like to fish as long as I catch something in the first 10 minutes. Any longer than that and my patience runs out. Guess that’s why I don’t make a very good hunter. ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. LOL! That sounded like a very: interesting experience. It seems that there might be a repeat in to your future. You can try dressing to slay instead…. (so lame, but I did it! ) wonderful read as always.

    ALLY~

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. These wild turkeys are best boiled, not roasted. So tough. I always wondered why we couldn’t have turkey season before Thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

