RSS Feed

IS SELF-PROMOTING AS HARD FOR YOU AS IT IS FOR ME?

IS SELF-PROMOTING AS HARD FOR YOU AS IT IS FOR ME?

It took me a while to decide, but I’ve decided what I want to be when I grow up. I love to write and my first book Crossing The Line has been out for a while with the sequel coming soon. I wish it were all that easy, but to get my book out there I have to self-promote. Self-promoting is not an easy task and lots of authors don’t promote or market as they should.

In my case as more of an introvert I tend to sit back and let nature – so to speak – run it’s course. Sometimes nature goes off in the wrong direction or comes to a complete standstill!

Some may not agree with me on that because I do get on my Facebook author page and promote shamelessly! Something like this –

My next 50 followers on Facebook will be in a drawing for a $50 Amazon gift card.  LIKE AND SHARE MY PAGE TO WIN! Those odds are pretty good because I will stop at 50 and pick one lucky winner from those, so jump in there quick! It could be you! The clock starts ticking NOW!

Don't be late!

Don’t be late!

That’s not really promoting just my book, but if you follow on Facebook you may see things there first that you may never see here! Go on over to Facebook now and get your name in the drawing. I’ll be looking for you.

Over there to your right on my sidebar is a Promoting Authors image. Click on it! See what comes up. You’ll I’ll be glad you did! That lined up pretty good didn’t it?

And I thank you, thank you, thank you in advance for your promoting on my book and other author’s books you read and promote, making our job a little bit easier by allowing us more time to JUST WRITE! 😉

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

17 responses »

  1. Many of grew up in an age when good hard work was recognized and rewarded. Now we live in a world where we must toot our own horn to get R&R. My boss, who was 30 years younger than me gave me that advice. I remember the last meeting I had with my last boss. While she had agreed to all of my previous self promotions, the last one was turned down. That was my sign that an exit would be appropriate. She was surprised when I retired, thought I was being punitive. In this age of social media, they who toot the loudest wins the gold ring.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Elle you are definitely not alone with being uncomfortable with self promotion. I hate when people come off as self involved and I’m also an introvert. I’m not sure how to break out of it yet. But I also have a Facebook page that I’m so nervous about.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I’m having a hard time promoting myself, Elle. I waffle between a “shameless plug” and “shameless begging”….scratch that….”shameful begging”…how lame is that?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. In a single word, yes! But thanks for the post – everything can help to make it a little easier (hmm… maybe I ought to get a FB page?)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

