RSS Feed

I REALLY COULDN’T DO IT

I REALLY COULDN’T DO IT

The time always comes and no matter how long it took to get here or how much you thought about it you are never really prepared. Last week I decided it was time to do some spring cleaning. This house is so small and every inch I manage to acquire can be used for something.

Andrew’s room is full to the brim of his childhood. His built-ins are overflowing with these memories. Trophies, plaques, the game ball, favorite childrens books and stuffed animals all nestled into nooks and corners waiting for his attention. Four years ago he graduated from high school and marched off to college. These items didn’t go with him.

Dropped him off at Troy and he was gone!

Dropped him off at Troy and he was gone!

I have packed plastic bins with music from high school and even some from college over the years. There is a box with odds and ends that were important at some time in his life. His swim medals and band medals are encased in separate Ziploc bags. A LSU hot wheel truck is still in its package from the time he wanted a truck for his birthday! There are birthday cards and school yearbooks, pictures and certificates. How many caps does a person really need? Lots. Of. Stuff!

Look at theses cute little guys!

Look at these cute little guys!

Two deer head hang on the walls and turkey feathers are propped on the shelves. On one shelf are DVD’s by the dozen and games for his Xbox and we have no idea where the game console is! That fish is still under his bed and may spend the rest of its life there. You can read about that de-cluttering story here.

It was a mess!

It was a mess!

I had more plastic boxes, the broom, the vacuum, and the dust cloth ready in hand and as I stood around that room taking it all in and I just couldn’t do it. For some reason I felt as though I was throwing him out and leaving him homeless if I packed up his stuff. I know he won’t be back to live here permanently anymore. 😦 A few weeks in the summers, a couple of weeks between semesters, a few days during spring break, and some weekends scattered out through the year is all we will get. And as it should be.

Still on his way!

Still on his way!

I tided. I dusted. I packed one small box with non-essential items. I made the room livable for a stretch of a  few nights of sleep at the most. It’s all I could muster.

Andrew doesn’t have a problem with me packing up his stuff. I have the problem!

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

19 responses »

  1. I remember packing things from our childhood home. After Mom died, Dad decided it was time to move on and sell the house. He invited my brother and I to help him get things ready for the move. It was tough on all of us as it was like a real trip down memory lane.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. This is bittersweet, and yes I saw the similarities to “Toy Story 3” as well. Also we have been through this before with our girls. Big hug for you Elle.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I meant to start spring cleaning. Thanks for the timely reminder. The dust dinosaurs are starting to rise up again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Hmmm. I have that problem, though it’s more about my own stuff, and my mom’s stuff, now she is part of All That Is. So, it made me wonder, if he doesn’t have the problem of you packing it up, would he have a problem doing it himself?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Wish me luck on that one! Lol! He’s never home long enough. And he would probably throw out more than I would. I tell him it may be important one day. I just hate to see it go. Makes me realize he has grown up. 😞 ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Hi Elle, you might consider one of those storage units? That way, when your son Andrew gets married or whenever he has somewhere more permanent to live. He can choose then which memories he wants to keep and you get your space back. For around 600-700 dollars a year. It all depends on the size of the storage locker. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh We’ve got one of those and it’s spilling over! I have thought of boxing his stuff up to take over. It’s just that thought of it not being here anymore that makes me hesitate. I’ll get over it. I’m sure! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. It reminds one of toy story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Aaw you need a hug. I’m sending you one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

