RSS Feed

CAR ON THE RAILROAD BRIDGE!

CAR ON THE RAILROAD BRIDGE!

Almost 5000 words into it and I realize I may never finish this Alaska Book if I keep stopping to research so much my mother mentions in her notes.

 

  • The Alaska Highway – The Alcan
  • Peace River Bridge –  Mother mentioned we had to cross the river on the railroad bridge because the bridge was out. I’m sure that was quite the experience!
  • The “59’s”  – The original “Alaska or Bust” caravan.

Some interesting facts of the trip so far.

  • Out of the six family members traveling I was the only one who got poison oak. Mother called it “That hateful stuff!”
  • They had no problem giving us carbonated-high-sugar-content beverages to drink. Also candy. Parents are mostly a bit more health continence today. We were probably climbing the walls of that camper with so much sugar in our system!
  • We had no mechanical troubles until we reached Canada. How fun was that with four kids under the age of six?

I’m posting on my author Facebook page a lot of personal information and pictures from the trip that may not make it into the book. Also information on the first three items listed above is posted today.  Check that out here.  LIKE the page to get future posts. This is proving to be a wonderful trip down memory lane.

My mother and father had nerves of steel I do believe. I’m sure we weren’t little angels for that 4000 plus mile trip, but you would never know it by the tone of her journal.

As I copy her words, I’ve noticed my mother and I share the same writing style and I have had to edit very little of her journal.

I can see the book taking shape and have decided to write it in three parts.

  1. The journal my mother started writing so many years ago – It would be so nice to be able to ask her some questions. 😦
  2. The letters back home – These actually take up where the journal ends.
  3. The “children” as she so often referred to us will be the third part –  We remember so much and it’s always fun to reminisce!

Of course I will have to have an introduction. I wish I could add pictures, but the quality of the ones we have is so poor. I will however, be adding many of them to FB, so be sure to drop over there often if you are curious as how we looked and to keep up with the journey. (I was the cute one.) 😉

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

21 responses »

  1. I had accidently unfollowed you. Had to go back and look for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. hi Elle

    as I said before, I think this one is your winner – do a bit more research – you never know what you might turn up – and please post some bits here, cos I’m not on facebook – smile

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I think you may be able to click my FB link and it will take you to it even if you aren’t o there. Not sure. Try and let me know the results Julz. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
      • finally got around to clicking on your facebook link – you are right – I can view stuff without joining! Can’t see anything wrong with any of the images you have put up – unless its a question of the cost of printing – which is not relevant if its an e-book – see no reason why you shouldn’t include your old family pics in the book – no-one is looking for perfection in old stuff – its interesting in itself – smile

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Sounds like a really good read!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I think this is a very brave undertaking as if you two were holding hands going back in time. Your disc froze for a reason. If it hadn’t you wouldn’t be working on this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I totally can relate to your comment about research and whether or not the book will get done. It will because you have the material right there in front of you. Take some time to do the necessary research and then….write the book. Can’t wait to read the adventure. See ya on Facebook! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Actually the research I’m doing relates more to my curiosity than to the book. Just things she mentioned as in crossing the Peace River on the railroad bridge. Why was that? So…I googled Peace River Railroad bridge to find out. Not sure if I can find a way to incorporate these things into the book. Been thinking about that all night! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
    • And Bethie, drop by Facebook anytime. No telling what you might see! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Maybe you can have the pictures restored or put on digital dvd?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

