RSS Feed

THE NAME GAME

THE NAME GAME

Choosing a name for my Alaska book is proving to be quite an ordeal. I must choose one soon because I’m getting tired of saying My Alaska Book, fearing that name might stick.  Sounds like the name of a child’s picture book project for elementary school!

Nicholas C. Rossis tweeted a link for  this article recently  I found very interesting about choosing a best-selling book title. After all that’s what I want. Right?

Only three thoughts for titles have crossed my mind so I think I will throw those out there to you in a poll and see what happens. Nothing is set in stone, but it will be nice to get some feedback.

You can read at the links below a little of what this book will contain and why I am writing it. Reading them may help you with your decision. Go on…I’ll wait right here for you while you explore!

See? I’m still here. Told you I’d wait! So what do you think?

Thanks in advance for your  participation in my title for the book poll. Visit my author Facebook page to see the first results! 

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

28 responses »

  1. Add words like zombies, aliens, conspiracy , armageddon, or how to make a million bucks in 5 days to your title. Things like this will make sales explode. So whattya think? “How I sold Snow to Eskimos” would sound intriguing to me personally.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hey!
    Thanks for your visits to my site recently. Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow at the Linky party =).
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I like them all except the first one that reminds me of September 11, but that’s because I’m a New Yorker and that phrase was everywhere. I love Alaska, The Journey Begins. Also Seen Through My Mother’s Eyes. So excited for you to have such a plucky project. Cograts again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. The title that jumped out at me was Lest I Forget.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. hi Elle – ooh, you have been reading Janice – smile…..

    this is not the final name right? for the moment, its “thro my mother’s eyes” – but if you just want a short & sweet tag – Alaska and back – as suggested above would work

    I have a sneaky suspicion that as you work thro the diaries etc, some phrase of your mother’s will chime with you – and then you will know what the title of the book will be – good luck for now!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Ok. This is awesome. Love it Love what you are doing with it.

    I vote for Lest I Forget. Its perfectly concise but with just the right amount of intrigue to make you want to know more about it.

    Don’t kill me for adding a 4th option but what about “Lest I Forget” Subtitle: “Memories/Memoirs of our Alaska Homestead”, “Lest I Forget: Subtitle: Alaska from a mothers memiors” or something? IE using the title w/ a subtitle that feeds more into Alaska/homestead/memoir more literally. Too much?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Ok. Don’t kill me for being a pain in the a$~ but… I voted for Lest I Forget. It’s perfectly intriguing i.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. I voted for OUR ALASKA YEARS – LEST I FORGET, because I feel like the title should contain the word Alaska after all it is the thing I associate with you book!

    Like

    Reply
  9. This is difficult. I voted for “Lest I Forget,” because it was the shortest. I felt the title should lend itself to the spirit of the book. Maybe something about “Letters From Alaska,” and then I thought of “Northern Nights.” It’s really difficult, because it is about remembering, but it’s really about the life and times of homesteading. Can you think of a line in the book which sums it all up for you?

    Also, there was a prompt recently which was about writing a ‘dust jack’ for a book about your life, or something like that. I’ll have to look for it, if you haven’t seen it yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Through my mother’s eyes sounds like a best seller but i voted for Our Alaska Years – Lest I Forget b/c i thought it said more about the book. I remember you saying how you were going to put input from the kids in the end so i didn’t know how that would play into Through My Mother’s Eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Hmmm, none of those titles seems appropriate. The notion of “Lest I forget” conjures up images of war, etc.

    I mean, to set the tone. Maybe “Alaska, there and back”? Or Alaska in [the appropriate time frame, whatever]? Your second title at least captures the notion of how this journey was. … I could go on? Then I become a type of vicarious writer?

    When we are relaxed, the problems will often solve themselves. Best wishes, from a non-voter. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. I really like the second one. It really caught my attention and curiosity.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

