RSS Feed

ALL IS NOT LOST IN THE LAND OF TECHNOLOGY!

ALL IS NOT LOST IN THE LAND OF TECHNOLOGY!

Those who have been following my updates here and on Facebook know I recently lost all my content from my USB flash drive containing my manuscript for ‘What Line’, the sequel to ‘Crossing The Line’.

Also, Crossing was also on this same flash drive. I was preparing to republish Crossing with a new book cover and some corrected errors I had found, but to do that I may have to type the whole thing over! Uggh!

At first I was stunned and kept thinking – “This is not happening. It’s not real. I know this USB thingy will open. It’s just a glitch.” I had faith. I was optimistic. And then when I realized this week I may not be able to retrieve the contents – something about the drivers and windows can’t read – I got mad! I do know that content is on there and maybe one day…but one day may be too late. 😦

ALL IS NOT LOST! I found chapters 1-28 of ‘What Line’ on some sent email! 😉 The bad part of this is I have to start my edits over and then write about 15-20 more chapters to finish again because those aren’t in the email. Who knows? Maybe it will be better the second time around! 😉

While all that was going on I started on my Alaska book which I am really enjoying doing. Go here to help me decide a title for this new project.

Sooooo……I guess I will be working on two projects at one time now. I CAN DO THIS!

The end of the school year will be in one month and H will be home for the summer, so I must get busy.

What I have learned from this experience is to save your work in more than one place and email is a very good option. Email those chapters to yourself! Learn from my mistake!

~Elle

Keep up with daily updates on my two projects and maybe some great pictures on my author Facebook page. Just tap that LIKE button and I’ll show up when you least expect it!

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

29 responses »

  1. I love your “I CAN DO THIS!” attitude. That’s the spirit!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’m so glad you found some of your work. It’s really daunting to have to start all over with nothing on paper. So yay. So glad you emailed some chapters a while back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Glad you were able to retrieve some of what you lost Elle. Still, I think I would have been so frustrated, so I can appreciate how much hard work was lost. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Good that you found some of the things you lost!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Examples I’ve read of this happening (as well as my own experience) show that the rewriting always makes it better. And it’s amazing how much is actually stored in your head. Having said that, thanks for the reminder – I’m backing it all up straightaway! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  6. so glad you have found something – at least – smile

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Oh no! Sorry to hear you lost your manuscripts. Glad you were able to retrieve at least part of your work. Email copies have saved me in the past too! Good luck rewriting the rest! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. I have to agree on the saving in multiple places idea – would not have liked to be around you on the day you first discovered the fault in the thumb drive. Did the family suffer or did you keep your anger to yourself 🙂
    Seriously though the idea of using various places to save those documents cant be stressed enough – not just to bloggers but to anyone out there.
    Take care
    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Looks like you have discovered a fail safe backup method – email the chapters to a sevcond ot third email address. Let the cloud store the chapters for you. Then when you want to retrieve them, you will have them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. That is the worst! I still have old floppy’s I am to scarred to toss. Its like, how would I even get that data anyway!? I hope the rewrites come to you quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. I’m glad that you were able to retrieve some of your hard work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

