RSS Feed

CRAWFISH AND NO FISH

Posted on
CRAWFISH AND NO FISH

I shouldn’t, but I do. Shouldn’t what you say? I shouldn’t feel guilty about taking a few days off from my blogging and social media, but I do. I did have a good time though and I’ll share with you some of the highlights!

Saturday we went to the 31st Annual Pensacola Crawfish Festival. Yes, most of you might wonder what’s so great about that. If you are from Louisiana you know what I am talking about. We wait for this every year because it’s the best Louisiana crawfish you can get while living in the state of Florida!

I read blogs from a couple of people in Louisiana. I’m pretty sure Beth over at Nutsrok knows what I’m talking about when I say good crawfish. 😉 Sadly, Chris McMullen which was one of the first blogs I followed, isn’t too fond of those mudbugs! He just doesn’t know what he’s missing.  😦

Besides having plenty of boiled crawfish – sixteen thousand pounds – there was plenty of other Louisiana delicacies to be had. Fried boudin balls, fried shrimp, fried crawfish tails, jambalaya – the list goes on and on.

No, I don’t suck the heads! H does and he’s not even from Louisiana, but went to school at LSU for many years so considers himself one of us.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sunday we decided to drive to the pier on Okaloosa Island to do a little fishing. Didn’t catch a thing – just a little sun! It’s only a 10 minute drive from the house and afterwards there’s Anglers where you can stop in on your way out and have food and drink. 😉

The blue herons were everywhere and so un-afraid of people. There was one little boy with tousled blond hair running down the pier chasing one and yelling at the top of his lungs, “I’m gonna catch you!” In the nick of time that bird spread his wings and took off to land in a safer place atop one of the pilings. I wonder what that little boy would have done if he actually had caught one!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Julz, over at Julzcards will be glad to see how close I got to that blue heron. She knows my fear of birds. I had my running shoes on Julz! 😉

Now I’m back from a refreshing weekend and have lots to do and lots to write. How was your weekend? Hope you had some fun too!

Here’s to a great week ahead!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. this sure looks like fun! Those crawfish looks really tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Wow Elle – what a day and what amazing food!
    got your pingback and approved it – smile
    while I’m here – you must have some of your old wedding dress work – or anything else – you could share on me Gallery of Your Work – please contribute ……

    http://julzcrafts.com/2015/05/03/a-gallery-of-your-work-please-contribute-to-it/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Mmmmmm – jambalaya!! You weren’t taking “time off,” Elle – you were clearly doing research! Nice slideshow!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Sounds like an awesome weekend. Wow, you were close to the blue heron. It’s gorgeous. I was in Sleepy Hollow visiting Washington Irving’s grave and over at his house getting a tour in Irvington. Fascinating man. So cool to listen to the story of who he was and what he accomplished.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I love crawfish etouffee but I’m not to found of the boiled ones with the heads still on. Too much work for such a tiny taste of meat…and then, there’s those eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Thanks Elle, I really enjoyed this! Always thought I would like to go to Louisiana and the Heron is my favorite bird. Hearing about both was great…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I miss some fresh seafood. In Indiana you have to pay through the nose for it, yes I’m jealous of you Mrs. Florida!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

