RSS Feed

YES, IT’S INEVITABLE – IT WILL ALSO HAPPEN TO YOU ONE DAY!

Posted on
YES, IT’S INEVITABLE – IT WILL ALSO HAPPEN TO YOU ONE DAY!

 

A few weeks ago I lost all my content on my flash drive. The flash drive that holds my manuscript to ‘Crossing The Line’ and everything pertaining to the publishing of it. Thank heavens it was already published! This flash drive also held my almost completed and edited manuscript of the sequel to Crossing – ‘What Line’.

I have had no luck getting that flash drive opened. I know that content is in there. I just know it is. But…..I read an article over the weekend and maybe it isn’t in there after all. 😦

Jeff Werner from It’s Geek to Me says, “The simple truth is that no Geek has yet managed to invent a form of mass data storage that is 100 percent impervious to the ravages of time.”

Impervious – adjective – Not allowing passage into or through something. Not responsive.

Yep! That’s exactly the definition on my flash drive!

I believe him. He has not led me astray yet and I read his column faithfully every week in our newspaper. He once posted an article on how to remove those annoying pop-ups on your computer. You know the ones I’m talking about. It’s inevitable you get these at least once in your lifetime if you use a PC. Now my pop-ups have disappeared and my computer experience is so much better!

Go dig around in his site some. Click on that link I added a few  paragraphs up. You may find something to help you with your problem. And please, don’t count on those flash drives to save your content indefinitely. My stuff is now whisked away to email these days.

Now if I can only remember my email password……forever!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

14 responses »

  1. That’s why I have several backups using different storage devices, DVD-ROMS, flash drives and external hard drives. I have at least 4 backups of my least important files, but I have 10 backup copies of my more important files…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’ve been saving on a new flash drive and also sending to my email. I don’t trust those flash dives completely anymore! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • I don’t trust them as well, so I have many backups and I always purchase new storage devices for precautions. And I don’t trust the “Cloud” as well for storing my more important files, regardless of the “privacy” and “security” that they promised…

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. I’ve never used a flash drive for saving things. I use it for taking stuff off one computer and moving it over to another. That being said, I do use an external hard drive as back up. No difference in that, I’m sure. Nothing is safe from, as you say, the ravages (well, the geek guy, actually said it) of time. My one saving grace, for previous stuff I’ve written, is that I happened to have hard copies of it all. It’s not something I’m doing now, and I still should be. I used to feel, oh good I don’t have to have all this extra paper around with computers in my life. But I was wrong. I’ve actually lost more stuff because computers died on me, than any other way. I will say that when I’ve had a computer go down, (especially the towers), I’ve been able to have it extracted from the cabinet, and can use it as a back up inside a new tower. Not so with laptops, which I’ve now gotten. Still, the sad fact is, there is no way to safe guard our stuff, completely. Of course, now there’s all the ‘cloud’ storage stuff, but I’d feel it was more in danger of being hacked into to than anything else.

    Thank you for this post. It’s important keep in mind for everyone, that we have to become more creative on how we decide to keep our stuff safe. I felt so frustrated for you when you were going (still are 😦 ) through the loss of precious information.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. That is the worst. I try to back up my stuff by emailing it to myself once a week. I just don’t trust flashdrives. They beat floppy disk, don’t get me wrong, but still. If it’s not saved on a server, I don’t consider it saved. Thanks for posting this. You reminded me I need to go home tonight and back up my work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Since it happened to me I’m getting much better at emailing to myself! Never say never Toni! Thanks for dropping by. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
      • I’m a firm believer in learning from the mishaps of others. It happened to my sister once. I felt so miserable for her. Luckily she didn’t lose everything, but if she had, that was three years of work. Good luck with your current MS.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

