RSS Feed

BOOKS ARE OUR FRIENDS

Posted on
BOOKS ARE OUR FRIENDS

I received an email this morning from my friend Susannah Bianchi over at athingirl.com. She said she had not realized it was Memorial Day weekend and the library was now closed until Tuesday – without her having attained her usual stash of reading material for the long weekend. Oh yes, Susannah, it will be a long weekend without that stash!

This got me to thinking about the way we all read these days in this 21st century.  Electronically is the not-so-new thing, but it is catching on with a vengeance. I for one, have a kindle, a kindle fire, and a kindle app on my laptop. I also have an audible app on my phone for audio books I listen to while traveling. With one-click on Amazon my book is in my hot little hands in a few seconds!

ebooks

I love my kindle fire because I can read in bed with out the lamp on, which makes H a happy camper! He doesn’t realize I guess, the TV flickering into the wee hours of the morning sometimes does a number on my sound sleep.

Some people read on their phone with a kindle app. Not me! My idea of reading is not squinting to see the print and scrolling up continuously while trying to enjoy the story. Oh, I know the phones are bigger these days – some as big as a small tablet. But, with my other devices, I don’t have the need.

I do so love a good physical book though. The feel, the weight, and the smell as you turn the written word can not be maintained through all these apps and electronic devices.

book shelves

And the library! How many of you have children or grandchildren who have never darkened the doors of the public library? In my opinion the library should be open 24/7. And it is if you are reserving your books through the electronic method. There are only so many titles to be had electronically and many, many more out there that will probably never be electronic. In these cases you can have the pleasure of holding a physical book in your hands, flipping the pages and smelling the smell!

I recently purchased a book (North To Alaska by Gordon Stoddard) my Dad had read in 1957 when he decided to homestead in Alaska. I couldn’t get it on kindle – though I really didn’t want it in the kindle format anyway. I wanted to hold the book, to read the words, and to feel what he felt when he read it so many years ago. I had to buy a used copy because it is out of print. What are the odds it is the very same book he held in his hands in January 1959? Probably slim to none since there were no library markings and I feel that is where he probably got his copy. I will have to visit the library in my hometown to see if they still have this book in their stock. THAT could be the one he read. 🙂

You see, books last for a very long time if they are taken care of and handled correctly. My mother always told us, “Books are your friends.” Yes, our childhood books had colorful scribbles with practiced hand writing and dog-eared pages. There were smudges and sometimes broken spines, but this showed they were well-loved and well-read.

With electronic books that would never happen. Your children may never pick up a book from their childhood, fondly remembering the snuggling in bed for the bedtime story or that cozy reading in a chair on a rainy day. Will they be able to pass these beloved stories to their own children? Yes. But it will be in a more sterile, kindle, electronic way.

I don’t believe Susannah is an electronic kind of girl with her reading list and with the library closed for the holiday she may have to resort to the book store and purchase some reading material to get her through the next few days. Oh, I’m sure she has plenty of, in facts tons of well-loved and well-read books taking up space in her apartment.

The point of this story is, if you don’t already, please frequent your local library as much as possible. Take your children. Take your grandchildren. Visit on a rainy day. I’d hate to see library’s  close because of lack of business and from the looks of the way this world is heading that could happen sooner than you think!

If I lived close by I’d run you a few of my titles over to tide you over for the weekend Susannah!

~Elle

Follow me on Facebook to keep up with the Alaska story and the rest of my writing!

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

23 responses »

  1. I’m a Kindle fan as well, but I agree with you about the fond memories of cozy reading in a chair. There’s something about a child on your lap and a big book you can look at together.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I too am a Bookaholic and i loved ur post

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. And it’s free ! If you are a cheapskate like me, you love that fact that checking out a book is free! And then you return it – no longer taking up book shelf space, Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I believe we are one generation away from children know the pleasure of paper books. Our grandchildren are already supplementing their reading stash with ebooks. Their children may never touch a printed book. Sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Oh I love Susannah’s quandary, it’s so quaint. I don’t have a Kindle. I have the app on my computer buy I think I may have used it 3 times total. I may be digging my heels in but it just wouldn’t occur to me to download a book. In fact I’m at home in Ireland at the mo and am so excited to visit the town bookstore tomorrow. It’s been there since I was a child. It has as many books as ever (mostly local history and poetry but still…)whereas the town library has more computers than books now…:-(
    Lovely post! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks Jackie! Susannah lives in New York. (Manhattan) You could be neighbors! Lol! Hope you are having a lovely holiday in Ireland. I don’t use my kindle app on my computer either. I think I put it on there when I was publishing Crossing because at that time I didn’t own a kindle. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  6. I have been enjoying historical novels of authors in the class of Jack Whyte and William Dietrich. Thanks visit my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I love what you wrote….

    The point of this story is, if you don’t already, please frequent your local library as much as possible. Take your children. Take your grandchildren. Visit on a rainy day. I’d hate to see library’s close because of lack of business and from the looks of the way this world is heading that could happen sooner than you think!

    If I lived close by I’d run you a few of my titles over to tide you over for the weekend Susannah!
    LOL

    You do make me a little interested in a Kindle since if I had one, I wouldn’t be in such a panic. It would be an option after all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Thank you Elle. I needed to read this. Two weeks ago I had a book signing at a local book store. In short words, I was a little disappointed. Only close friends and relatives came by to look at my latest book. I wrote a post “Are We Becoming A Society of Non-readers?” afterwards. May I reblog this? I wanted to ask first, giving you credit. I believe it sums up what I’ve been feeling lately. Anne 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

