RSS Feed

Never give a Finch

Never give a Finch

I haven’t made up my mind yet on “Go Set A Watchman”, but Kevin has. Maybe his view will help you to make up your mind. I’m torn between wanting to read more from the written hand of Harper Lee or staying true to Atticus Finch.

WHAT THE HELL

Lee
I won’t be reading Harper Lee’s, Go Set A Watchman.

Why? Because “Atticus Finch” is gone. Atticus Finch, sans quotation marks, survives in the new novel as a KKK-sampling elderly racist, but the idea that was “Atticus Finch” has been taken away from us. By the publishing business. I won’t have it.

It’s been many years since I’ve read To Kill A Mockingbird, but the last time I did I was blown away by the effects Lee was able to produce, mainly through one of the most deft uses of first-person narration I know of. Scout, evidently all grown up, is recounting a key period in her childhood. And even though we understand that an adult is really telling the story, we take it to be coming from the child’s consciousness. Translated to the brilliant 1962 film, that book seems as real as reality, even in metaphorically appropriate…

View original post 383 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

10 responses »

  1. I will be reading Watchman first, then Mockingbird. Why? It was the order in which they were written. What better way to watch character development, evolution & maturation, albeit not in chronological age.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hmmm, I can’t say I agree with this. On a very pragmatic level, this is the “original Atticus” as it’s the first draft she wrote of him. I don’t think Atticus has “been taken away from us…by the publishing business” as it was Lee’s editor at the time (a cog in the wheel of the publishing business) who encouraged her to turn the first novel into To Kill A mockingbird and give us the Atticus we have come to love…As I say, maybe I’m being too pragmatic but for me this other version has shown Atticus to be a more 3 dimensional flawed believable character. I understand people are very divided on this…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I did read it, though I could see why Harper Lee didn’t want it published after Mockingbird. Atticus, seen through adult eyes, could never meet Mockingbird’s standards.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Read the original post Elle, and felt the need to comment on it there, but just to say thanks for passing it on – you will have to make your own mind up about reading it!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I can’t bring myself to read this book, nor will I as I feel Harper Lee would have submitted the manuscript for publishing, if she were at all happy with it. And the Atticus Finch I came to know would never be the one in this “Watchman” book. Some memories are best treasured and held onto, and “Mockingbird” the book, and film is the ones I’ll hold onto. I’ll not feed another coffer, in fact I’m not even curious. Oh god, I’m being harsh today, forgive me, Elle. Where’s my coffee? :@)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Hope you find your coffee soon! H just called me and said I forgot to give him his coffee this morning. OMG! He’s a grown man and should be able to remember to pick that to-go cup off the counter on his way out in the mornings. I drug myself out of bed and made it for him. What else does he want? I don’t even drink coffee. Why should I have to remember someone else’s? Now I’m being harsh. Maybe I SHOULD drink coffee. Lol! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

