RSS Feed

“IN GOD WE TRUST”

“IN GOD WE TRUST”

It’s  always been there – everywhere we look – and has never been a threat. “IN GOD WE TRUST”

Now it seems a lot of people are getting offended because of this phrase and are threatened by it. 

I’m not one to flaunt my religion or stand up and pronounce my thoughts and prayers. Not because I don’t believe, but because I’m more of a private person. 

I do stand at meetings, sporting events, and gatherings with my head bowed in prayer. I’ve even been known to bow my head in prayer at restaurants. It’s the way I was raised and the way I raised my family. 

Now it seems the popular thing to do is to make a commotion about prayer before school board meetings, at school sporting events, and “In God We Trust” bumper stickers on government and state cars. 

“Take it away or else” is the message being sent out in letters to schools and government officials threatening to take the offense – such as it is – to higher courts if need be. 

Hmmm? Why are people offended when others pray or pronounce their love of God? They have not been asked to pray themselves if not applicable or stand up and profess their love of God. No one I know of judges others because they don’t bow their heads in prayer at these events.  We are too busy praying to notice who doesn’t pray.  We are not glancing around taking notes to send out to the press. 

Just because “In God We Trust” is stenciled on a government vehicle does not mean God-fearing patrons are the only ones taken into consideration when the law is upheld. 

Taking God and prayer out of schools, sporting events, and town meetings will not solve education or government problems. 

So you want just your moment of silence? Ok…that can happen, but then…we will have our moment of prayer. It’s a win-win for everyone this way. Do you agree? 

Next on the agenda is having to reprint all forms of American monies because “In God We Trust” is clearly printed on paper monies and coins. 

I’ve yet to hear of a case where someone refuses to use or accept an American form of money because of this. Seems to me they pick and choose their battles as to what can be delt with more easily and will ask for more and more and more…..

After all, the world can survive – but barely – without prayer and “In God We Trust” bumper  stickers. And money to some is “the root of all evil”.

Does the majority of citizens of the United States want this to happen? I think not. The more schools, towns, and government adhere to these petty demands, the easier it will be for them to bow to all demands instead of bowing to God. 

Just my thoughts on this subject. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

19 responses »

  1. (by nattering nabobs, I mean those who want to remove these slogans, not those who want to keep them. People often get offended at the stupidest things, imho.)

    Like

    Reply
  2. Three thoughts on this.

    1. The original motto of the USA was “E Pluribus Unum” – from many, one. The many different colonies became states that united to become a country. In God We Trust, was added to the money later, just as the words “under God” was added to the Pledge of Allegiance later. Neither one are part of the founding documents or original wording.

    2. Jesus said those who pray in public get only the opinion of others, that public prayer and public displays are a meaningless show. If you want God to hear, go into your closet where your right hand cannot see what your left hand is doing and pray in private. Then God hears. So, why is public prayer in the government schools so important to Christians who are supposed to follow what Jesus said?

    3. Happy Holidays is about recognizing that many religions celebrate a holy day around the same time, not about taking something away from anyone. If you study history, you will find that Jesus was most likely born in the Spring. His birthday was moved to the winter solstice to “Christianize” that pagan holy day, as that made it easier to convert the pagans. Easter is the spring solstice; same deal.

    Christianity is the majority religion in the USA, but more and more young people are calling themselves atheist or agnostic because of the way some Christians HAVE made it a political thing.

    We all need to lighten up and focus on showing the love that IS God to all people. If we do that, these nattering nabobs who want to complain about meaningless show will be ignored.

    — Rev. Tim Gatewood

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’m amazed to hear this is a subject for controversy Elle – absolutely ridiculous!
    I may not actually believe – but there is no reason to argue with those who take comfort from those words – and if it has been part of the tradition of US culture from the get go – why are people making a fuss NOW?

    Don’t know whether it has happened in the States, but for some years, here in the UK, schools got so worried that Muslims and other religions would be offended by the general assumption that the main religion is Christianity, that they even started changing the words they used for the holiday period we call Christmas. Very Silly – may have been a wish not to offend, but it makes no difference to anyone – we all know its Christmas whatever its called!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • So it’s not just in the U.S.? I don’t know why now Julz. Maybe because there are so many cultures here now. You know- the home of the free, the land of the brave. But don’t come and try to make a change. On the schools and Christmas – so true. We’ve been through that one too. We all know it’s Christmas vacation! And Easter vacation. Not winter and spring break. Haha. They aren’t fooling anyone. ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. “In God We Trust” has been part of the American culture since the founding fathers formed the framework for the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. I may not agree with a lot of people or their views, but I do respect their freedom. I just ask that they respect mine. America’s foundation is built on Biblical truth and Godly wisdom. To take away “In God We Trust” will erode the very freedom we enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I think it’s because religion is very political in the US. I too am very private about my beliefs. I think this is the right way. I don’t believe religious issues should be discussed and picked apart during political debates for example. That should what you hold in your heart not what will win you points or votes. Just my tuppence-hapenny 🙂
    I have always wondered though about the ubiquitousness of “Bless you” when people sneeze 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I have been following you and find your post interesting.
    I invite you to read my post for today:
    http://therogerspost.com/2015/08/10/writers-butterfly/
    ccr

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. You know, it doesn’t matter whether it’s “In God We Trust” or “Breastfeeding Produces Healthier Babies.” We now live in a society that is petty, violent, and all about me, me, me. And unfortunately the internet gives ANYONE the perfect platform to bitch and moan all they want. I wonder how different our world would have been had the internet never been discovered… I’m sure we would ALL have been a lot healthier mentally and emotionally — and probably physically if we actually got up and did something active!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  8. It has always seemed odd to me how much time and energy people who are against something they don’t have to participate in will expend to try and take it away from others. But speaking of prayer, any word on your boy?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Actually no word! He called yesterday and I missed the call. I’m sure checks ok. I would have heard any bad news. You know that. Thanks for asking. I may have hit a few nerves with this last post Shel. Oh well. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  9. My picture once again has gone south. Go figure.

    I agree on all of this. School prayer, respect for the flag…having a spiritual side that gets you through. I feel the Constitution that clearly is very hardy, takes a hit every time prayer is in question. Separation of church and state. Worshiping without looking over your shoulder.
    I love telling the story of when Ben Franklin died, all the members of the first Philadelphia Synagogue walked behind his casket because he was instrumental allowing them to be the first set of Jews to openly and freely bask in religious freedom. I’m always moved by the image. He also started the first library, so let’s hear it for Ben.

    Nice post…and isn’t it great we live in America where you can write and say how you feel? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

