RSS Feed

GOT INK?

GOT INK?

INK…

Ink is a liquid or paste that contains pigments or dyes and is used to color a surface to produce an image, text, or design. Ink is used for drawing or writing with a pen, brush, or quill. Thicker inks, in paste form, are used extensively in letterpress and lithographic printing.

Ink can be a complex medium, composed of solvents, pigments, dyes, resins, lubricants, solubilizers, surfactants, particulate matter, fluorescents, and other materials. The components of inks serve many purposes; the INK’S carrier, colorants, and other additives affect the flow and thickness of the INK and its appearance when dry.

A tattoo is a form of body modification, made by inserting indelible INK into the dermis layer of the skin to change the pigment

What is your favorite form of using INK? To write, to draw, to decorate your body? I usually use pencil when I write in longhand, sketch or doodle and I’ve sworn off tattoos for life, so that leaves INK for me to use at a whole other level of medium.

sneaky little devil!

If you want a permanent  INK mark on yours or your loved ones clothing do as I do and toss one of those slim writing tools filled with INK into the washer with a load of laundry.  For a more permanent piece of art throw it into the dryer with that load. I promise you that artwork of yours is now sealed for life!

not good!

          

 

pants                                                                                                                           

Of course it’s my fault when this happens. “You need to check my pockets,” is the laundry day advice I get from H – someone who doesn’t even know how to turn on the machine. He’s a big boy and old enough to empty his pockets before he chucks his clothing into next to the basket. Don’t you think?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. Your response should be “you’re right. I have no idea how to do laundry. Maybe you should do it next time.” Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Like yourself, i’m a big admirer of the humble pencil. Though these days, mine are the propelling sort with an eraser under the cap. These pencils come in different lead sizes a different colour pencil for different thickness of lead. I press firmly, so any pencil under 0.7mm is quickly drained of graphene. i have a box of wood pencils all with different lead types from 4H to 6B. Used for sketching.

    Most of the time, i too use a pencil. I keep one in my coat pocket. I also keep a ballpoint in trouser pocket. I do not ever remember washing my pants with it left in pocket? Yet i know it has been done, by myself, on occasion. Very annoying. For not only does it stain a bit but it also drains the pen of useful fluid.

    i live by myself. So any washing done, usually sees me searching pockets. For as annoying as that ink might be. The kleenex left, is far more so. Tiny shreds left on black fleece … not cool!

    Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

