RSS Feed

HIDING IN THE SHADOWS

HIDING IN THE SHADOWS

It was really bizarre leaving the house at 6:30am this morning as H prepared to leave fifteen minutes later headed in the opposite direction. Usually I am the one standing at the door, handing him coffee and lunch, then kissing him bye for the day. 

I had time to write two blog posts in my head as I drove to WHS – a place I don’t really want to be, but that’s another story – to pin hems in ROTC uniforms for the Colonel.

After pinning one class, I have 2nd period free. In the old days I would go bide my time in the band room in H’s office. I may not be very welcome over there now and anyway, why would I want to present myself in that fashion? 

I had the Colonel open the side door for me when I arrived so I wouldn’t have to go through the office to check in with those people who did not fight for their band director in July. Technically, I’m in here illegally. Oh well. I guess you could say I’m in hiding. 

I’ve  been altering these uniforms for six years now and they pay me a nice amount of cash to do it which gave me incentive to not hesitate with a yes when asked. Sometimes we have to do what we have to do…

Five more periods to go. Then on to SWHS to fit H’s colorguard uniforms. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

5 responses »

  1. Having to slip in incognito, Elle, had me imagining you in sunglasses a cap and wearing a trench coat. Still, like you said, we do what we have to do. You guys hang in there. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Never mind … time to hum a song song, maybe? “Have you seen your mother baby” No that’s too weird … oh well maybe some https://youtu.be/K0YeXhvZTYM …?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

