RSS Feed

FACEBOOK – YOUR VIRTUAL WALLET

FACEBOOK – YOUR VIRTUAL WALLET

Facebook is a virtual wallet these days where you carry your pictures of kids and grandkids and it’s a lot simpler to use than whipping out that leather wallet stuffed to the gills with dog-eared photos spilling out all over. Money, credit cards, receipts, photo’s, and ticket stubs all taking up valuable space where there isn’t much space to begin with.

Last Saturday H took his band to Troy Band Day at Troy University. It’s always a great experience for the students marching in and performing on the field with ‘The Sound of the South’ and many other participating high school bands as a mass band at half time.

The other plus to this trip is we get to see Andrew perform with ‘The Sound of the South’ and well…we just get to see Andrew! Sadly, while sitting in the stands during the game, we realized this was H’s last Troy Band Day performance with his students and Andrew’s last marching season with ‘The Sound of the South’.  😦

Troy SOTS percussion line

                   Troy SOTS percussion line

On my author Facebook page I posted a video of the Troy percussion warming up for the game before the Trojan Walk into the stadium. Usually I just post stuff like this on my personal FB page and it’s a  “ho-hum, another video of Andrew” attitude from my friends. Believe me, they have seen plenty of these video’s in my virtual wallet. 😉

I noticed this morning on my FB insights page, since Sunday afternoon when I posted this video, there have been 672 views, multiple shares, clicks on post, people engaged,  and 1723 people reached. (who knows what that “people reached” even means) This by far surpasses all other insights on any content I have ever posted.

Hummm? Maybe I should make this page about Andrew and ‘The Sound of the South’!

I have no idea how to embed a video on WordPress so here’s the link for the video or click on it down below. If  you get a minute of free time go by and check it out under video’s and LIKE my Elle Knowles author FB page. Who knows what you will see next!

Andrew is the fifth from the right on snare – the one tapping off and cutting off with sticks in the air toward the end. 😉

https://www.facebook.com/Elle-Knowles-507408332614952/timeline/#

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

12 responses »

  1. found it – even tho I’m not on the site, I could actually play the video – wow – what a sound just drums can make!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I love the drum line warm-up. Today’s bands are far different from when I was in band in the 60’s. Elle, you can upload video if you ahve the premium plan ($99/annually). I usually uplade the video to YouTube, then use the traditional post editor, I can add a link to YouTube that will display properly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. My wife loads up Facebook with photos and videos all the time. I haven’t look there in a while, I fear what might be lurking there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. The best way to use a video is like any other graphic. Through upload feature, you will also see a direct link to YouTube for example. But any other graphics file works. Through the WP uploader. Or you can just paste the URL right into your post. lastly when editing a post. Using the text editor rather than the visual editor. One can create a link. Although a person does need a smattering of HTML knowledge to insert at the right place and to close off link. Or you can do what you did? All good, all work … Cheers Jamie.

    Like anything Elle, just practice, practice, practice Cheers J.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. It’s because it’s such a great theme. You are a natural at social media Elle. You could teach a course, one I’d sign up for in a heartbeat 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

