RSS Feed

THE 3 TYPES OF WORDPRESS VISITORS

THE 3 TYPES OF WORDPRESS VISITORS

Sometimes I wonder who actually visits my WordPress site. My stats show numbers, but unless you comment or like I really don’t know who you are. Sometimes when you comment I still don’t know who you are! 

  1. There are the regulars who visit faithfully most days I post, commenting and liking with vigor! They arrive on my doorstep for the entertainment and information.  I love these guys. ❤️
  2. Then there are the happen-chance folks who come across a title and on a whim drop by for a look-see. Sometimes they are impressed enough with my content to turn into a regular and sometimes it’s just a one-time visit or a pay-back visit from a comment I’ve made at another site.  
  3. Last-but-not-least are the peepers, the lurkers, the nosy-rosie’s. You know the type. The ones curious to see if they can catch you at your worst or find out info on you or a loved one. Oh…those lookers in the real world are named stalkers. They have your WordPress URL on speed dial checking in as though they are on parole.  Good to know my life is that interesting!

Would you agree social media leaves little to the imagination at times. Can anyone add to this list?  

~Elle

 
 

  

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

19 responses »

  1. Ew! Visitor # 3 sounds creepy. They want to catch you at your worst or find out information about your loved ones? Really? I am so naive.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. hi Elle – you are right, its really impossible to know who is reading your blog.

    if people are following you, and get the blog in email form, they may read it and enjoy it but can’t be bothered to click to the “like” or comment buttons, and I have so many blogs that I put on my follow list, that I often don’t get around to reading them.

    There is another issue tho – those people that find you but don’t have wordpress accounts and so have no idea how to leave a comment or a like! Family members often don’t even know how to say hallo if they have read the blog – so its worth giving instructions once in a while!

    all the best – julz

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I read. Keep writing! Most of my family and friends don’t have WordPress accounts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I’ve had a lot of one off visits or likes because I happen to have put a particular tag – fashion for example (not one of my topics of expertise!) brought in likes from fashion bloggers, almost automatically, it seems. As for the regulars, I keep juggling between inbox and reader – not easy to keep up with everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I also get the search engine people who arrive at my blog because they searched for a specific topic that I did a post on. As well, as some friends and family who are regular readers but who never write comments.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  6. Sorry, never gave it much thought … with regard to those blogs subscribed to. Your post alert arrives in the form of an email. I always thought it was the same for most? Part of my “keeping the inbox manageable” routine. Is to follow the link to read what’s written. There is not much I do not read or at the very least skim over. Those skimmed are the news and ads.

    So perhaps? Compulsive neat freaks might give you another category? Oh and for what it’s worth? Your posts are usually entertaining and your blog is enjoyed, by me. I comment a lot on blogs, of all sorts. Yet also, there are those posts that a comment would be inappropriate because it said it all. … sigh! On with my inbox … ta rah Jamie. …’til the next post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I don’t get to my reader list as often as I want but I do make an effort to read my favorites. I enjoy your stories about the things that matter. Your classification of readers fits just like a crowd at a party.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

