RSS Feed

MAGICALLY DELICIOUS!

MAGICALLY DELICIOUS!

Today I was able to magically set aside a block of time to actually work on my ‘Alaska Book’ again. I can’t believe it has been almost four months since I’ve interacted with it aside from in my head on a daily basis. If you haven’t been following along you can read about the start of this adventure here and here.

To my surprise, when I opened up my file, I only had two more chapters of ‘The Letters’ to copy and paste into my manuscript. I probably would have finished this phase up sooner if I had realized that. It was a  lot of copying and pasting because I already typed these letters years ago. They were not in the format I wanted for this book though,  so now they are. It’s been a good days work in this block of time.

So…I have the first phase typed – The Adventure Begins – the second phase copied and pasted in – The Letter’s,  and now it’s time for the memories from the children, family, and friends.

There were five of us children, Naomi, Debbie, Lindy (me), Chip, and Tish. We all wrote up our memories years ago when I first copied only the letters to put in book form for Mother. Today I read over those memories before I copied and pasted and of course I was blubbering by the time I finished the last one.

Here’s an excerpt from my brothers’ (Chip) memories that brought tears to my eyes for some reason.

After we returned to Louisiana I was lost for a time.  I was very homesick and wanted to go back. I was suddenly in an alien world with no mountains or snow.  The giant pine trees of Louisiana were pretty, but I missed the spruce and poplar. I know now how hard life had to have been on my parents while there. They gave us an experience few in this world will ever have.  I was part of a small group of adventurers that stood on the edge of the modern world and the world of our pioneer past.  When I read of the early settlers of our country I can relate to the hardships these people had. We are all grown now and have gone our separate ways, but for a time we were a very close family group that lived in abject poverty and thought ourselves rich. We endured hardships that our friends will never know and grew with a pride few families ever experience. I often wonder what would have become of us had we stayed. Chip

Isn’t it strange how wonderful memories make you tear up sometimes? These were magical times for us as you will soon see.

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

14 responses »

  1. Hi: Please join: 3-D Blogging Reblog and add your self-promotion ccr.

    http://therogerspost.com/2015/09/27/3-d-blogging/

    Like

    Reply
  2. I can see why your brother’s memories brought tears to your years. He has a wonderful way with words.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. hmm – I was wondering why I hadn’t heard anything about the Alaska book for a while – smile

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Glad you’ve got back to it – and perhaps with renewed energy after the break. Seems to be coming along nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Not only do I love the title, but I LOVE THIS…

    Isn’t it strange how wonderful memories make you tear up sometimes? These were magical times for us as you will soon see.

    One of the great things about for whatever reason, having to put your prose down, is how delighted you are to pick it back up again. Am so happy for you.

    Susannah

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

