RSS Feed

THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT…

THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT…

It was a dark and gloomy night and there we were trying to function in the dark – no lights, no TV, no cool air blowing through the vents. 

I had just finished cooking. Yeah, I know – I don’t cook. Not often anyway, but H had requested meatloaf and I obliged. The plates were on the table and the drinks poured. Now if we could only find that table. 

Once, a long time ago, I was use to this senerio living where the electricity went out if a bird lighted on the line and sometimes it would be the better part of the day or night before we were brought up to code again. I guess the stint I endured in the Alaska homesteading adventure had prepared me for that phase of my life. 

I thought I had left all that behind me when I moved into the city. The only time we were without electricity around here was during a hurricane. I don’t think we even lost power with that freak ice storm we had a couple winters ago. 

Here we were though with a little rain on the horizon and out go the lights! There was some fumbling around and H whips out his handy-dandy flashlight. (BTW – Flashlights make great Christmas gifts for men. They feel as though they have received the greatest toy on earth.) This was the same flashlight he brandishes when prowling around the house in the middle of the night. I guess he thinks that beam of light flashing up and down the dark hallway resembling the beacon flashing on a dark night from the top of a distant lighthouse will bother me less than if he switched on the hall light. 

I had no candles to speak of and wouldn’t know where to find them if I did. So…we did the next best thing. We had dinner-by-flashlight. 

Thankful for my Kindle Fire, I was able to stretch out on the sofa and catch up on a bit of reading after dinner. H, on the other hand, realized his electric recliner does not recline without electricity. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

12 responses »

  1. Great post. . . I especially enjoyed the hilarious line about the electric recliner. And, I agree with the previous commenter that it needs a battery back-up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. This is so funny…dinner by flashlight. Meatloaf no less. We take so much for granted…the minute something we’re used to is taken away, we can’t quite get over it. I haven’t had heat for two days after the temps dropped…I’ve been inconsolable.
    Glad you’re writing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. That last part about the recliner made me lol! Does it not have a battery backup?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Elle, I love my flashlight too, but then I’m mesmerized by all bright and shiny objects. We’re the same way with our candles. I know we have them, just no idea where we put them. And looking for them during a blackout is the only time I go looking for them. Yeah, my wife says I’m a bright bulb. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

