RSS Feed

ALL FOR THE LOVE OF HUSBANDS – OR – I’VE GOT YOUR BACK

ALL FOR THE LOVE OF HUSBANDS – OR – I’VE GOT YOUR BACK
It’s the ‘little’ things you do that show the love and support women have for their husband or significant other. This can either be taken as a rant or a pat on the back. It is what it is…
'Don't worry. I've got your back.'

‘Don’t worry. I’ve got your back.’

  1. With eyes barely open you make him a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for his lunch even though the smell of peanut butter always brings back bad memories, especially at 6am.
  2. You pack the last Moon Pie in his lunch knowing that’s what you really wanted for breakfast this morning.
  3. You wait patiently for his call every morning to let you know he got through that horrendous traffic safely on his way to work even though you would rather go back to bed. Now you are wide awake.
  4. You rise from your warm bed every morning at 5:30am, staggering to the kitchen to throw together some cereal, juice, and coffee and then make him a lunch – preferably not peanut butter and jelly.
  5. You are on call all day going over and beyond the call of duty to take care of any emergencies that may arise and putting your tasks on hold for longer than you wish.
  6. Even though you are not feeling up to par you muster up the energy and enthusiasm to show up and support him at yet another event he has for work in the evening, then trudge home exhausted to get a few hours of sleep before it starts all over again in the morning.
I don’t often take the day off from my morning run, pushing myself whether I feel like it or not, but…it’s not happening today.
~Elle
About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

14 responses »

  1. Hi Elle,
    I loved your post. Congratulations! You won the Inspire Me Monday Linky party! I have missed you. I can’t be at your site for reblog Wednesday anymore since I can’t reblog.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh wow! Thanks Janice. And two days later I respond! This is proving to be a difficult year trying to keep up with blogging – which I dearly love – and life in general. I’ll try to stop by more often. Thanks again. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  2. If neural wiring in men and women were the same, what would you have? Men’s brains are wired for single tasking while women’s brains are wired for multitasking. Together they form a partnership. PS – I am the one who makes sure my wife is up on time and I am the one who fixes most meals.
    http://www.rawstory.com/2013/12/brain-imaging-shows-stark-difference-in-neural-wiring-of-men-and-women/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • You are right Jerry. If men and women were wired the same it would be a very different world. H would be fighting me for the chance to make that coffee and breakfast every morning and I would jump at the chance to go out in the world each day to make our lives better. On the other hand, I’m not sure what I would come home to everyday. We should leave it the way it is…it’s working. A pat on the back to you for setting that alarm and putting meals on the table. And I’m sure Carol lets you know how much you are appreciated. After all, she is a woman! 😉 ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Oh Elle, this was so great and the visuals. I saw you sleepily stumbling to the kitchen, the sound of your slippers scuffing the tile. I see him, the big kid all men are, sitting there eating…expecting…not conscious enough to realize how lucky they are. Somewhere there’s gratitude, it’s just not awake yet.

    I truly loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. You do love him, don’t you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Elle, thank you for reminding me that my wife is my wing-man. I wonder if she knows? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

